Update

Well, I haven’t ran in over six weeks. But I have been busy. I’ve spent a lot of time helping Dear Niece  get settled in, then I spent even more time getting caught up with the stuff around my house that I ignored in the process. All while spending a fair percentage of my off time relaxing with my lady friend. To say the least, my physical fitness efforts have dropped in priority. 

I finally got the new bicycle, which I’ve taken out twice for real rides – one three miles, and the other one five miles. I want to get solidly used to it before I take it out in questionable weather, much less consider commuting.  Neither of my rides included any real hills, and the route from my house to FaucetCompany has a couple doozies. 

Now that Dear Niece has mostly settled in and is working, and I’m slowly getting back to something that I can call normal, maybe I will be able to get back on the fitness wagon before I lose everything that I worked so hard to build. More time in the bike saddle is definitely on the list. And I’d like to continue running, even if not thrice per week like I was doing before. 

In other news, I found and killed a smallish copperhead in the chicken coop last week. It wasn’t aggressive, but it scared the shit out of me. Had to go get a gun quickly, before it disappeared or bit the chickens. Couldn’t find any ammo for the shotgun, and wasn’t sure I wanted to use that anyway. Even birdshot would’ve destroyed that whole corner of the coop. So I settled for the 10/22. I emptied a 25-round magazine in probably five seconds once I got lined up on it. I think I hit it twice: 

I didn’t even know what kind of snake it was until after the deed was done. It did break broody bitch out of her nest sitting, so there is that. 

The tires on my new bike require high pressure – 100 PSI minimum, 130 PSI maximum, according to the sidewall markings. I have two 12V units that are supposed to be capable of 125 PSI, but neither can get it out of the 70s. Part of that might be the Schrader to Presta adapter that I have to use, but I didn’t have any trouble getting 120 PSI in them using the adapter and a hand pump.  

Being the lazy bastard that I am, I don’t want to use the pump. I have a small, three-gallon 120V compressor that I use for normal stuff around the house, but it maxes out at 100 PSI. That translates to maybe 90 PSI in the tire, which is below the minimum. So, I’ve ordered a new pressure switch and overpressure valve which I hope will cure that problem. 

I know that the higher pressure will shorten its life expectancy, but I don’t expect to run it but a few times per month at most. I would’ve just bought a new compressor, but I couldn’t find a reasonably priced model rated for even 120 PSI. I found all kinds of 120V “inflators” that claimed the ability to do the job, but I already have two that told that lie. And I don’t need a commercial unit or a forty gallon tank. I just need more pressure. I’ll let you know how it turns out. 

Well, that’s about it here. Y’all take care, now. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

