Success… Of A Sort

I’m still recovering from the sinus infection that I contracted over a week and a half ago, but mostly it’s down to a little chest congestion and the occasional coughing fit. I’ve continued to work out three times per week, despite the difficulty. 

Last night was a milestone. For the first time, I ran a full five kilometers. In a way. I chased the belt on the treadmill at a slow jog for what it said was 3.25 miles. Every previous run had been for time, or in the case of last week, for speed. My longest run before this, including warm-up and cool down, was 2.16 miles.  I started out at a 13:20 pace, but less than five minutes in, I knew it was more than I could handle. I dropped it to 15:00, and finished the 3.1 miles. And decided to push it to 3.25 for good measure. Including warm-up and cool down, I did 3.5 miles. 

I had plenty of wind. From cardiovascular and stamina perspectives, I’m in much better shape than I was a quarter of a century ago when I entered the military. I could’ve maintained that pace indefinitely. 

But my body has gotten old. For a few weeks, I’ve had this knot on the inside of my right calf that is sensitive most of the time. Running aggravates the fuck out of it, sometimes hurting so badly by the end of a workout that I can barely move my leg. The treadmill always makes my back hurt. My feet always hurt, although my plantar fasciitis has improved over the past month. And at the two and a half mile mark, my hips started to protest. But fuck all that. I. Did. It. 

I now know without a doubt that I can finish a 5K at a jogging pace. Now all I have to do is kick this cough and work on speeding up that pace so I won’t come in dead last. Four weeks from Saturday is race day. Not much time. 

I wonder when they’ll get around to sending me my race packet. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Success… Of A Sort

  1. nancykrainz says:

    I am so proud of you!!! You are an inspiration!
    I’m a little concerned about the calf issue. Perhaps that should be investigated by a doctor.
    As far as the race packet, in every race I have run, I had to pick the packet up. They usually have it available the night before the race, or, the morning of the race.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks, but I’m not sure how I rate being an inspiration. I’m a fat, old man who finally found a clue. As for my calf, it isn’t always debilitating. Speed tends to make it worse than time. For example, last night it hurt, but I was able to drive home normally and by the time I got there, it wasn’t bad enough to need ice. Last time, I worked on speed and I almost had to crawl to the car. If I go to a doctor, he’ll say it’s a pulled muscle and tell me to take it easy for a while. Every single day even after ten weeks, I have to talk myself out of blowing off my workout. If a doctor gives me the excuse to lay off for a while, I’ll lose that fight with myself and I’ll be right back where I started. I can’t let that happen. Thanks for the info on the packet. I figured they’d mail it so participants could show up wearing the t-shirt, at least.

  2. bbuddha says:

    try cinnamon for Pain Relief
    Cinnamon essential oil is a natural pain reliever. It is used to alleviate muscle pains, aches, chronic pain and joint stiffness. Take 3 drops of cinnamon essential oil and add 2 tablespoon of carrier oil, like olive oil. Dilute in this ratio. Massage this oil on the painful area. Avoid using it on sensitive skin areas. Regular massage with cinnamon essential oil reduces inflammation and provides quick relief from stiffness. One can use it to get rid of regular body pains that occur when we stress our body and work long hours. One can use it to relieve pain caused by muscle knots ( myofascial pain ) and lower back pain.
    You can also use it in boiling water to steam you sinuses. It has anti viral and anti bacterial properties.
    What you are doing is amazing, You set your sights and you are going full steam ahead. Good Luck.

  3. John Matus says:

    Use your Volteran. I was surprised to read that you used it on your plantar fasciitis, my doc prescribed mine for neck spasms.

Leave a Reply

