Pain

I’ve been having a significant amount of pain in my feet for several months. I chalked it up to it being the cumulative effect of working long hours on my feet on either cement floors or metal grating plus my ever increasing weight. 

Despite the money I’ve spent for higher quality boots, premium insoles, padded socks, et cetera, the problem has continued to worsen. My symptoms match those that Ex Roomie had years ago when she was diagnosed with plantar fascitis. Most of the pain is in my heels, and the first few steps make me want to scream and cry at the same time. 

Hell, getting shot hurt way less. Eventually, it tapers off to the point where I can walk with only moderate discomfort. Until I stop moving for a few minutes, then it’s lather, rinse, repeat. 

Recently, I started taking the prescription NSAID Voltaren. I finally understand the meaning of the expression take the edge off. In the past, pain meds either took away all the pain, or didn’t touch it at all. This time, the Voltaren definitely turns the pain level way down, to the point that I can walk instead of hobble. But it doesn’t make it all go away. 

This probably isn’t news to anyone but me, but I found it quite the enlightening discovery. Sad, huh? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pain

  1. bbuddha says:

    Yep, sounds like plantar fascitis. I managed to get rid of it in one foot and now it started in the other. It will be better if you can get the fascia stretched out again. I do stretches before bed so it doesn’t hurt so bad in the morning. It is taking much longer to get better this time…..ahhh the joys of aging. Well, at least it is better than the alternative

    • alaskan454 says:

      I’ve been trying the stretches, and it helps for a little while after, but doesn’t seem to make the mornings any less excruciating. Hopefully in time, I’ll get it under control. Losing a third of my body weight would probably help, too.

  2. hollychism says:

    Freeze some small water bottles, and roll those under your feet, between your heel and the ball of your foot, against the floor. My other half has that plus a heel spur, and he swears the ice bottle helps when it acts up.

    There are also support wraps sold on Amazon to help with that, but I can’t comment about effectiveness.

Leave a Reply

