Consequences

Actions have consequences. Some of these consequences are obvious. Others probably should be, but aren’t.  I have a terrible track record when it comes to not anticipating significant consequences to my actions.

This past week, I stepped on my dick pretty forcefully. I unintentionally disrespected a friend, and even more so, her husband – a man with whom I’ve never held a single conversation.

I purchased a gift for her, without asking permission first. She and I share an interest in a particular type of item, and in casual conversation she mentioned a couple of models of said item that she would like to have. I decided to buy them for her.

I didn’t do it because she can’t afford them herself; the entire purchase cost less than my last solo trip to a steakhouse. I didn’t do it because I’m romantically interested in her; I’m not. I did it because she had helped me out on more than one occasion when I really needed some moral support (just saying thank you didn’t seem sufficient), because I like to be useful, and because I just wanted to. Selfish reasons, really, even though the act may seem otherwise on the surface.

My friend was gracious, and no mention was made of any offense or a slight. But that doesn’t change reality. I was very much in the wrong.

Sir, I’m sorry. Please know that I meant nothing inappropriate, and I will do nothing of the sort again. I hope that no offense was taken. If it was, I humbly beg your forgiveness.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Consequences

  1. Odysseus says:

    Gumpy,

    Absolutely not offense was given or disrespect offered. Please stop beating yourself up on this. Cybernom aside I’m very much not the jealous type, so the iron bow remains unstrung.

    Odysseus

  2. The inability to see or anticipate unintended consequences is more common than the ability to predict such. Johnson had the best of intentions in the War on Poverty; actual results were far different from the intentions. I’ve never seen you do that badly in anything. Don’t beat yourself up so much.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Wow! That sets the bar rather high. I’d have to fuck up really badly to equal the WoP. I have, however, gotten fired, irreparably damaged both platonic and romantic relationships, and caused all manner of uncomfortable situations for myself in the past because of it. That’s significant enough to justify my self-flagellation following a near miss. I do appreciate your support and encouragement, though.

Leave a Reply

