Update

After struggling for many years to understand conversations on the telephone and in environments with any appreciable background noise, I went to see an audiologist yesterday. My hearing loss was confirmed as precisely that. Moderate loss at and above ~2KHz. Approximately the same loss in both ears, and no underlying medical conditions or buildup issues. Hearing aids were recommended, and I chose the “economy” option at $1K each. Fortunately, I had enough in my Health Savings Account to pay for both, with a little left over in case I have other medical expenses this year. They should be ready in two weeks. We’ll see how they do, or how I do with them.

I know young people have hearing problems, too, but today I feel really old.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update

  1. Jin Chiang says:

    More like wiser. You know dancing with your hands on her ass at the Iceberg Lounge is bad. The loud thumping music is masking what her angry burly boyfriend, Mongo, is saying.

    You’re a trooper for struggling as long as you did. I’m glad you’re taking care of your health. Do your best to avoid the hospital is the best advice from my doctor.

    What happens if you remove health insurance from the equation? The cost is reduced to only 10% to 20% of a typical medical bill. Not good if you’re shanked by a hobo, but a closer alternative to medical tourism by going abroad.

    Surgery Center of Oklahoma: http://surgerycenterok.com/

Leave a Reply

