Fat Bastard

Several days ago, I stepped on the scale for the first time since shortly before I reclaimed my home. I was not pleased. Not only was the more recent number almost twenty higher than the previous one, it was also only two less than the highest number I’ve ever had the displeasure of viewing.

Consequently, Grumpy is in Personal Mass Reduction mode. I’m currently at 107 kilograms. My personal goal is to be under 80 kilograms. I would like to be 75 kilos, but that was a nearly impossible task a quarter of a century ago. I’m not going to entertain that as a realistic possibility now.

Although I will be making some dietary changes, I’m going to concentrate on the activity side of the equation. Life isn’t worth living if there is no pleasure. I enjoy tasty food, and not in moderation. In other words, if I want two pounds of bacon, a dozen eggs and six slices of butter soaked toast for breakfast, by God, that’s exactly what I’m having.

The difference will be that, for eight of the next twenty-four hours, I’ll be sure that my activity level is >70% of my aerobic capacity. Balance. I will have it.

Wish me luck. I’ll keep you updated with my progress or lack thereof.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fat Bastard

  1. nancykrainz says:

    Good luck!! You will find faster success if you enjoy half the usual amount of forbidden food and supplement with a more healthy variety. As you well know, I have struggled in this area my whole life and feel certain I will continue to do so my entire life!!!!

  2. I can relate all too well. I still want some dominos pizza and some lazy time when I get there… lol

  3. Jin Chiang says:

    Leave the butter and skip the toast. Borrow “The Big Fat Surprise: Why Butter, Meat and Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet” by Nina Teicholz from the library. I’ve dropped down to your desired weight using nutritional advice from that book.

Leave a Reply

