Suggestions?

Since I bought the .338, I’ve been meaning to pull the traditional hunting style scope off of my AR-15 and replace it with a different type of optic. It’s a flat top, so there are no sights. I have a set of flip-up backup sights, but they don’t work very well, and the sight radius is ridiculously short with no place to mount the front sight except for on the gas block.

I have a $20 holographic/reflex/red dot type reticle sight from Sportsman’s Guide that I installed this afternoon. I like the style, but I question the design and accuracy. I aimed at a point on the far wall of the room and held the rifle steady.  Slight head movements moved it as much as 1/2″ off of the mark at less than fifteen feet away. I can’t imagine this not translating to serious accuracy issues on the range or in the field.

I know that cheek weld is critical for long distance precision shooting, but for a combat rifle, getting the stock in exactly the same place for every shot is going to be impossible. All the information that I’ve been able to find about these kinds of sights says that cheek weld isn’t critical, just point and shoot. Am I doing something wrong? Is my mind playing tricks on me? Is my sight just a piece of shit?

Does anyone have any information or suggestions? I know I could just take it to the range, try to zero it, and see what happens, and I plan to do exactly that as soon as I can. I just wanted to ask here first, in case someone else has experience with a similar optic that they would be willing to share.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

