Recovery

My house guests moved out a little more than a week ago. It was unexpected. I actually moved out when they moved in (never mind why), and stayed with ExRoomie for the duration. That was very unpleasant, but I considered it a necessary sacrifice at the time.

I stopped by last Friday to stay the weekend, after ExRoomie asked for the house to herself that weekend. I had cleared this with Houseguest, who had planned to visit out of state family at the same time, and wouldn’t be there anyway. When I got to the house, I noticed that all their stuff was gone. Except clothes, odd shoes, toys and whatnot mixed in with the crumbs and assorted detritus under every piece of furniture. I should say, every remaining piece of furniture.

The full size bed, night stand, bookcase, TV stand, as well as the secondary TV, DVD player, PVR with a hard drive full of movies and TV shows, most of my bakeware and plastic food storage containers… were all gone. A significant amount of what remained was damaged, or worse.

Every room was a complete and disgusting mess. Dishes hadn’t been washed in who knows how long. Shit stains and piss splatters covered both toilets. There was puke on one of the end tables that there had been no attempt made to clean up. There was gum, candy, and other sticky substances embedded in the carpet. Soda was splashed halfway up the wall in the room where the toddler spent most of her time. All the carpet not covered with furniture was stained and filthy. There was trash everywhere. The laminate and vinyl floored areas were equally nasty, and required hands and knees scrubbing to get clean. Few walls didn’t have chips, scrapes or other markings. Blinds had broken slats and missing adjustment rods. I could continue, but you get the idea.

I spent all of last weekend cleaning, and continued the process this week. I might finish the cleaning part this weekend, except the carpet, which will require equipment that I don’t possess. I probably never will finish the repairs.

They have nothing that I could take to recover my losses – I was also giving them cash to pay for the necessary items that food stamps won’t cover. Criminal charges would only make those poor kids’ lives that much worse, although I wouldn’t bother with that anyway.

Houseguest wants me out of their life. I’m happy to oblige. There’s obviously more to the story than I’m sharing here, but the omitted details don’t alter the circumstances at all.

This is what I get for trying to help someone I thought was a friend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recovery

  1. That…truly sucks. I can’t offer much more than sympathy from such a distance, but you have that, and an ear, if you need it.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thank you. I’ve been thinking really hard about reaching out to you, but you’ve had your plate quite full lately, and it’s not unbearable for me yet. I truly appreciate the offer. I value your friendship more than I know how to express.

  2. GarandGal says:

    I’m sorry that your generosity was abused, but I’m more sorry that there are children being raised in that kind of environment by people that don’t see a problem with behaving in that manner.

  3. Jin Chiang says:

    You have a good heart. That was very noble of you for thinking of the children. But, remember, your home is your sanctuary.

    I know money is tight after that expensive life lesson. Just give the word, I’ll whistle up the boys and we could chip in on a little something to cheer you up. I’d bet Cherry Willow could knit a yellow Pikachu bandolier with a fountain pen sheath for you.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thank you for your kind words, but “sucker” and “idiot” would probably be more accurate.

      Thanks for your offer, but I’m fine. Once the damaged and pilfered items have been replaced, I will be money ahead. I was contributing $75-100 per week to the cause, plus spending an extra $50 each week in gasoline to commute the additional 100 miles every day. By February, I should be in pretty good shape.

  4. Steve says:

    You have probably already thought of this, but I’d add rekey/change the locks. Even if you got the keys back, you don’t know how many copies have been made (personal experience).

    — Steve

    • alaskan454 says:

      New Grade 1 Schlage locks and deadbolts installed within 24 hours. I didn’t get the keys back. Including the one to the outdoor storage building. It has a new lock, too. I do appreciate the reminder. My head wasn’t in a very good place for the first couple days.

Leave a Reply

