Parker 45

Several months ago, I acquired a Parker 45 fountain pen from one of my favorite people on the planet. Since then, it’s been a love/hate relationship.

I love the pen. It’s beautiful and elegant in its simplicity of style. It’s not garish or gauche. It’s not overstated. Instead, it’s a classic, in the truest definition of the term.

But I can’t get it to run reliably to save my life. It was difficult to get to flow initially, but once I finally got it going, it seemed fine. But I didn’t use it regularly after the first week or two. I deemed it too nice to bring to work, so I left it on my desk while putting my new, cheap Chinese pens through their paces.

When I picked it up again a couple weeks later, it had dried up. I cleaned it thoroughly, and gave it time to dry. Then I repeated the arduous process of inking it. It worked for the session, so I presumed success, and promised not to neglect it again.

The next day it was dry. So much for my thorough cleaning fixing it. Since then, I’ve soaked it, rinsed it, and cleaned it every way I can image. The result remains the same. Within hours, the nib is dry, and I have to force ink through the converter to get it going again.

Eventually, I will make it work. If I live long enough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parker 45

  1. When I have a pen stoppage, usually a damp paper towel works to get it started again. Barring that, just rinse the pen under cool water for a moment, then wipe with a paper towel. Write for a while.

    Sometimes, some pens are really persnickety about needing to be used every day; other pens don’t care if you don’t use them for months (like the Vectors).

    • alaskan454 says:

      The damp paper towel wouldn’t work for me. At least not until I pressurized the feed with the converter. I did notice what appeared to be rust mixed with the ink in the first few recoveries. This surprised me, since I assumed that the feed tube would be either plastic like the rest of the feed, or stainless like the nib.

      In any case, I didn’t have to recover it tonight, despite it sitting unused all day. Maybe it just needed some attention. I’ll continue to use it this week at work, and hope it doesn’t get damaged. If it works reliably, I’ll start giving it days off to see what I can get away with before reliability suffers.

Leave a Reply

