Pack Rat

I have a problem throwing things away. I was taught to appreciate the value of things, and to not be wasteful. As a result, I have shit running out of my ears that would might still be useful to the right person under the right circumstances. But, for a vast majority of it, I’ll never be that person.

For example, I have thirteen model-specific handgun boxes/cases. I still own six of the guns that came in them. Most have accessories, such as locks or cleaning brushes inside. It’s extremely unlikely that I will ever use the ones for which I still have the guns. I certainly don’t need the others. But they are completely serviceable. It seems a shame to throw them away. But I don’t know anyone who could use them, and they’re just taking up space.

It goes on almost endlessly. Balancing kits and extra screws for ceiling fans that were left in homes I moved out of over a decade ago. Again, fully functional, and something that probably a dozen people invested a tiny fraction of their lives to manufacture. But useless to me.

Legacy electronic equipment. Software, drivers and operating systems that I will never use again. It all works. Or could work. Maybe.

I think it’s time for some serious downsizing. Hopefully the guilt won’t be too overpowering.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pack Rat

  1. Oldawg says:

    Yeah, I feel your pain in scrapping perfectly good stuff. I literally have a pile of obsolete computer parts, cables, drives and whatnot that I just don’t know what I can tolerate to dispose of it. I had probably a dozen big old CRT monitors that worked, but nobody wanted. I finally got rid of them by throwing them in with more desirable stuff and making the guy who wanted some of it take it all. Filled a pick up!
    That made me feel good for awhile, but it didn’t last long. And computer stuff is only a small part of things I need to be rid of. I’ve been in the same location for 30 years now and it amazes even me how much I have managed to collect!

    • alaskan454 says:

      I’ve moved an average of once every year and a half as an adult, and many times I’ve had to leave lots of stuff behind. I can’t imagine how much crap I’d have had I been collecting it for thirty years.

  2. Definitely hear you, here. We’re slowly working on the same problems. We need to start either putting together a yard sale, or putting stuff out to the curb with a sign of “Free to whoever wants it.” Need to clear out a storage unit.

  3. GarandGal says:

    Goodwill will issue receipts that are supposed to give you tax benefits. There’s also habitat for humanity and always eBay. No real interaction there, but the potential for cranky assholes abounds and you have to actually mail the stuff. Goodwill and Habitat put you on the pickup schedule lol

    • alaskan454 says:

      I thought Goodwill only took furniture and clothes. I imagine there’s not much call for wired only routers, PCI 56K modems, and s-video cables. I might go the eBay route, but in the past, I’ve ended up paying people to take shit because I underestimated shipping costs.

  4. GarandGal says:

    Our goodwill here has a computer/electronics store that handles outdated yet still usable equipment donations. I thought they had them all over but they must not be in your area. Perhaps the city has a recycling program for them?

    • alaskan454 says:

      The local one might. I haven’t been in there but once, and that was a few years ago, and at the urging of the female of the day. I don’t remember anything but clothes. I guess I should go back and check it out.

Leave a Reply

