Two Is One

We’ve all heard the rule, “Two is one, and one is none”.  Sometimes, three is none.

I normally bring two pens to work with me, mostly because I never seem to be able to remember to check the ink level before I leave, and I don’t want to run dry and have to use FaucetCompany’s roller ball crap. Today, I brought three. It wasn’t enough.

Yesterday, my primary was the Lamy. I knew it was getting low, but I didn’t refill it because I plan to switch inks. Predictably, it ran out within the first hour. I switched to my blue Jinhao with the aftermarket German nib. I hadn’t used it in a while, so I wasted a little ink getting it going. Two hours later, it was dry.

My tertiary pen was the burgundy Jinhao with the Midnight Emerald ink. I try to limit work to black or blue, but it’s dark enough to pass for black as long as you don’t compare it to a true black. This pen/ink combination is a recent favorite, and I’ve been using it a fair amount for personal writing.

Out of curiosity, I checked the converter. No ink visible. But it’s a true extra fine nib. Maybe there’s enough in the feed tube to get me through the night.

Almost. But no.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two Is One

  1. Yeah, I check my pens before I leave, fill ones that need it, and still end up running out of ink in one or two that I dug out…but had forgotten to fill. There’s a reason I carry most of my pens a lot of the time.

    If you want a good, inexpensive pen that will hold a LOT of ink, look for the Parker Vector (if you don’t mind slim) or Parker Frontier, get a pack of their cartridges (or use a syringe to refill the one you’ve got), and carry that. It takes me a couple days of extensive writing to use up a Parker cartridge.

    I recently replaced my Parker Reflex with one with a fine nib. That one now lives in my purse. I will probably refill the cartridge that came with it until it won’t form a seal anymore, then use another cartridge and do the same. Parker’s carts are HUGE capacity, compared to pretty much ALL the others, even if you are limited in the colors you can use.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I don’t write that much, so I usually get a week out of a fill – which is why I’ve gotten lazy about checking them every day. Then I have a day like yesterday. I was reminded just how much ballpoint and even roller ball sucks. Sure, a fountain pen has to be held a specific way in order for it to work, but it’s a small price to pay.

      Damn you for suggesting the Vector. Now I have another pen to buy. 🙂

      • The Vector was my first pen. It was red. I also have a jade green in medium. They come in all sorts of colors. They’re less picky about how you hold them than most, and my students that are brave enough to borrow a fountain pen to sign in with say it’s the easiest one of my pens for beginners to use.

        My red Vector still has a special place in my heart, even though it’s splitting along the barrel where the section screws in (after eleven years of heavy use and one more of occasional use), and it’s slender enough that writing with it for long makes my hand hurt at the joint where my index finger and palm meet, where I’m developing some overuse-caused arthritis.

      • alaskan454 says:

        With that kind of a review, I’ll probably buy more than one. Thanks! (My wallet, however, is less thrilled.) Sucks that most don’t come with a converter, and the converter costs more than the pen. Except for those knock off half size converters, which I don’t want.

  2. Yeah, I know about the converters, but seriously–I’m planning on simply refilling my cartridge. Holds more ink than the converters, and should take 5-10 refills before it just won’t seal anymore.

Leave a Reply

