Definitely Addicted

I ordered three more fountain pens and two more inks yesterday. This will take me into the double digits for both. Nobody needs that many. But that’s the beauty of it. I’m not required to need something in order to be able to have it and enjoy it. That’s an advantage of living in the freest police state on the planet.

I’ll post details after I get them and have the opportunity to try them out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Definitely Addicted

  1. Welcome to the club. I’ve got…something between a dozen and a half or two dozen fountain pens, working and non. I’ve got five I need to get pictures of for sale, and three that need repaired, and several that can’t be, and as such, are only parts pens.

    I want an exemplar of all the different types of filling systems. I’ve got a piston fill pen, a lever fill pen, a button fill pen (which needs repairs), a touchdown, and cartridge pens of several types, most with converters for bottled ink. I still want a squeeze fill/aerometric, a crescent fill, a vacuum fill, and a snorkel fill.

    As for inks…I’ve got about nine or ten bottles (Noodler’s, Parker, and Waterman), and a few cartridges (Parker and Sheaffer). When I get paid again at the end of September, I’m going to order a few ink sample packets from Goulet pens, just to try out the different brands and colors.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I haven’t caught the vintage/restoration bug (yet), but for some reason, I can’t seem to pass by any inexpensive cartridge/converter pen with a fine or extra fine nib that I see. As for ink, I already have more than I’ll use in my lifetime, but I want MORE. 🙂

      • On the vintage pen bug? Um…yeah, you have, sort of. Your Parker 45 was probably made in 1960. 😉

        If you want an inexpensive copy of a Parker 51 (one of the pens with the best reputation as awesome writers), Hero pen company uses Parker’s old plants in China, as well as the 51 and 21 manufacturing molds, to make some of their pens. The 616 is a copy of the Parker 51, right down to the arrow clip on the cap, and cost $10 and under for individual pens on Amazon, depending on shipping speed, and $17-$40 for ten pen packs. I’ve seen them going for under $2 each on ebay.

      • alaskan454 says:

        Well, yes, I have one vintage pen. But I bought it because I liked it and had a specific purpose for it, not for the vintage aspect. Although I found that a cool aside. And two of the three pens that I just bought? A Hero twin pack. Unspecified model, just says iridium. Now that you mention it, I do see similarities to the Parker, although no arrow clip on this one.

Leave a Reply

