Seven Years

Yesterday sucked.

My Florida concealed weapon permit is up for renewal, and they require fingerprints for renewals for out of state permit holders. I no longer have a NC permit, simply because they are stupid. When you move to a new county, you must go in person to the old county and give a change of address. The law only says notify, but every sheriff I’ve heard of requires in person notification. So fuck them. NC recognizes permits from any state, without residency considerations, so I don’t need both.

And per year, Florida is cheaper even with the fingerprint processing fee. So the Florida permit is my poison of choice.

The sheriff’s office three blocks from my old house, where I go at least twice a week for one thing or another, won’t print you unless you live in the county. I no longer do. I could have probably used my old driver’s license and gotten away with it, but they don’t do fingerprints on Fridays. And I wanted to get the shit done yesterday. I’d already gotten the photo, notarized the application, and bought the money order.

The website for my county says that they print every day during the week, but only afternoons, from 1230-1630. So, I stayed up after work, and off I went 26 miles to the “correct” sheriff’s office.

I arrived at 1225. Only to be told the following:

Everyone is cycling through lunch right now. Nobody will be available until about 1430. I don’t know why they put that on the website.

So basically, they only print two hours per day, and the least convenient hours possible for me, at that. I was tired, grumpy, and unwilling to wait two hours. I left. On my way out of the parking lot, I called the next county over. They print all day, and don’t give a shit where you live. They’re roughly 30 miles both from the sheriff’s office where I was and home.

Fuck it. I wanted to get it done. And even with the driving involved, I was able to drive there, wait in line (behind this really cute lady getting printed for her nursing license), get printed, stop at the post office and mail the application, and still be home before “my” SO would have had anyone available.

At least the permit is good for seven years, so I won’t have to deal with this shit again for a while.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven Years

  1. Wraith says:

    That’s why I live in Arizona. We don’t need no fuckin’ permits! 😀

    • alaskan454 says:

      Lucky shit! I’m hoping we get Constitutional Carry by the time this one expires. We keep trying, and the politicians keep forgetting to dance with who brung em.

Leave a Reply

