There’s This Girl

I asked another girl out last week. She turned me down. It seems that she was a whopping two months old when I graduated from high school. And that’s too much age difference for her.

And I respect that.

OK, not really.

I had asked her out by sending her flowers, since there was only an hour of overlap in our shifts, and I have no legitimate reason to talk to her while we’re both supposed to be working. Starting this week, she comes in after I leave.

Her first question was about my age. But we actually had a decent text conversation after she turned me down. That surprised me. She’s very pretty, and doesn’t seem to be hurting for people to talk to. But instead of rejecting me and ending the conversation there, she talked to me.

Big mistake. Huge. Now, I’ve taken in upon myself to convince her that I’m not too old for romantic consideration. I asked her if I could still get her flowers once in a while.

“If you do, that’s on you. I don’t want you wasting your money on me. But it’s your choice. It made my day today.”

“It’s not a waste if it makes you smile.”

“OK. I don’t think any girl will deny flowers.”

So, I have her permission. Sort of.

We had this conversation during her lunch. While talking to me, she posted on the book of faces (where she honored me by adding me as a friend): “Eating strawberries for lunch is making me crave chocolate covered ones from Edible Arrangements.”

You know exactly what happened next. I found the closest store and placed an order. This was Friday, and we were off the weekend, so there was nothing I could do immediately. I had to work late Monday morning, and didn’t know if I’d have time to go get them and bring them back before her lunch. So, I scheduled them for this morning. Her craving is probably long gone, but I’m pretty sure she’ll still enjoy them.

I have already planned what I am going to do. Every week will be something. More flowers. A stuffed animal. A gift certificate for a mani/pedi, another box of strawberries, a “thinking of you” card, flowers again, a gift certificate to wherever she gets her art supplies if I can find out where that is, and eventually if she doesn’t stop me before then, a birthstone pendant for her 10,000th day, which is also her son’s birthday.

I don’t really expect her to change her mind and go out with me, at least not more than a pity date. (Which I will take. Girl is gorgeous and sweet as honey.) And if she does give me half a chance, I will make her fall in love with me. But for now, it gives me somewhere to focus besides the past.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s This Girl

  1. bbuddha says:

    My .02 cents worth. slow down. flowers and stuffed animal fine, gift certificates and jewelry maybe too much. some woman understand that older men are the best (like me) but I was 34 when i met mine (i was 4 months old when he graduated high school) She may not be ready. If you give too much too soon it seems like you’re trying to “buy” her.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks. I know this. And I try. But I just can’t seem to help myself. I have two speeds with everything in my life: Full Stop, and Wide Open. I try to take it slow, but I can’t. She won’t be with me. In my heart, I know this. But I seldom think about B any more. That’s worth more than I could ever spend.

Leave a Reply

