Jinhao X450 Fountain Pen Review

I bought a Jinhao X450 Fine Nib Fountain Pen, delivered to my front door for five dollars and seventy-nine cents. It shipped from China, so it did take one day short of two weeks to arrive.

It’s a beautiful pen. It is a deep blue with gold trim. From a cosmetic point of view, it is my favorite so far.  It’s metal with a solid feel and an average size barrel. It’s comfortable in my hand, and posts well. The cap doesn’t take much effort to remove, which makes me worry that it will separate from the barrel while carried in my shirt pocket.

It certainly isn’t a fine nib. It makes a much thicker line than my Parker 45 with a medium nib on the same paper. The gold plated nib glides over the paper very smoothly, but it lays down pools of ink. In fairness, the product description lists the nib as M, but the title says Fine. I guess I should have inquired prior to buying it, to verify which was correct.

I inked it with Franklin-Christoph Emerald 357 ink.  After experiencing the pooling, I switched to Noodler’s Bernake Blue, which is supposed to be some of the fastest drying ink on the planet. There’s still so much ink on the paper that even that stuff smudges. After bleeding through and making the backside of the page unusable.

I’m going to use up the ink that’s in it, clean it, and retire it to the back of a drawer somewhere. Not recommended, even at such a low price.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jinhao X450 Fountain Pen Review

  1. Try writing with the nib facing downward. It writes a slightly scratchier, but finer line. I’ve ordered a Nimosine German fine nib for mine, and will be switching out probably today when it arrives. I’ll let you know how that works, and where you can get one on Amazon, should you want to change nibs. It has some fairly good reviews, and cost half of what a lot of independent pen/nib/parts sellers want for theirs. It was a little hard to find through a search, so if it does work, I’ll email you a link.

    (If you want a gold nib, you can find them–you just need to look for a #6 nib.)

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks. Please let me know how the new nib works out. I hate to put the pen out of service, because it is truly beautiful. But it’s worthless to me if I have to write letters as big as I did in first grade in order for it to be legible.

Leave a Reply

