Lamy Safari EF Nib

I received and installed the extra fine nib on my Lamy Safari fountain pen on Thursday. It’s like a completely different pen now.

I don’t know if I got a really bad (comparatively speaking) fine nib with the pen, a really good replacement nib, or if my writing style and/or ink choice simply works better with an EF nib. Whatever the reason, I’m again in love with my Lamy.

It now writes every bit as well and as smoothly as my beloved Pilot. Perhaps even a little better. Gone is the scratchiness. No more excessive (in my opinion) ink usage. Sure, it skips a tiny bit initially if left uncapped very long. Just like the Pilot does. This is the result of a fast drying ink and physics: Less ink on a smaller nib means that it will dry faster.

I know that the nib is the most expensive part of the pen, but I still think it’s highway robbery to charge $15 for a replacement nib when a complete pen only costs right at $20.

Speaking of new pens, I think I might pick up a second Lamy and ink it in blue. I usually prefer black ink, but maybe it’s time for something new.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lamy Safari EF Nib

  1. If you use a converter, I recommend Noodler’s Bernanke Blue. The stuff dries so quick you can smear your hand across it as you’re writing, and not smudge it or get it on your hand.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I use converters on all of my pens. I was going to ask you about Bernake Blue. My concern is that if it dries so quickly, it might exacerbate the occasional initial skip that I already get when the nib is exposed to air flow but not being actively used.

      Extra fine points seem to be prone to scratchiness and skipping simply because they are so tiny, but I love them.

      I’ve ordered a bottle of BB, and will be converting one of my Pilot pens to blue when it gets here. I’ll let you know how it works out. Worst case scenario, it won’t work satisfactorily with an EF nib and I’ll use it up with my new to me Parker 45. 🙂

      • I have it loaded in two pens with EF nibs, and it does fine–no drying and skipping, unless I’ve not used them for a while.

      • alaskan454 says:

        Awesome. My bottle is scheduled to arrive on Wednesday. I’ll load one of the Pilots and see how it goes. I should have the Parker in hand about the same time, which I’m also looking forward to.

  2. Jin Chiang says:

    Franklin-Christoph makes bottled ink in your neck of the woods. Not as spendy as top-shelf ink like the Pilot Iroshizuku, but might be worth a gander. The Ink Cellar: http://www.franklin-christoph.com/the-ink-cellar.html

Leave a Reply

