Joys Of Home Ownership

It’s been one of those days.

Last night FaucetCompany canceled all third shift operations due to some expected winter weather.  The storm ended up shifting to the north and left us with nothing but cold rain, but I had the night off nevertheless.

I took advantage of this opportunity to do some of the basic stuff around the house. But first, I had to go to BigBoxRetailer to pick up some groceries.  There was absolutely nothing to eat in the house, and, well, my fat ass needs food regularly.

After I got back and got the food put away, I started the night by un-boxing the washing machine and putting it in place.  The valves dribbled a bit when I opened them, but I figured it was from disuse, and they’d be fine.  Fast forward to the end of the night.  They’re still dribbling.  I’ve opened and closed them several times, but no change.  Estimate: $280 plus parts. I can’t do it myself because it’s PEX and I don’t have the necessary tools.

After the washer, I put the dryer in place. That seemed to go smoothly, even considering that the vent is cheap ass flex duct.  I wanted to replace it during the renovation part of the process, but I ran $1000+ over my allowed budget on that already, so a new vent line is going to have to wait. Yeah, I wasn’t expecting that bill either.  It seems that the ten percent contingency fund didn’t cover everything extra that had to be done.

Anyway, I ran a load of clothes through the dryer, but there was no heat. Fuck!  Troubleshooting determined that one leg of the circuit wasn’t making connection. Bad electrical box.  It sucked, but was well within my ability to handle.  A trip to the local home improvement store, twelve dollars, and a frustrating thirty minutes later, and it was done.  Well, I have to get some heavy duty drywall anchors to hold it to the wall, since the screw holes in the new one are in a different place than the old one, but it is fully functional now.

Then, I moved on to the dishwasher.  Dear Whirlpool: Thank you very fucking much for using a Torx screw on the electrical box. And for using a garden hose connector for the water inlet instead of a standard 3/8″ fitting.  The supply line that I had purchased didn’t come with the necessary adapter, and my Torx screwdriver set was at the old house.  But, it is now in place and operational.

Somewhat later, I logged on to my insurance website to confirm the payment amount for my car insurance.  And found out that they canceled my homeowners policy as of 11 March.  What the fuck?!? I emailed, then called my agent.  It seems that more than twenty-five percent of the home is covered in mold, which means that they won’t cover it. The solution?  Get someone out here yesterday to pressure wash it, take pictures, and hope that it all happens in time for them to get it reinstated without a lapse in coverage.  Because if it lapses, the bank will buy coverage at about ten times what I’m paying now, which is already highway robbery, to cover their interest in the property. I have calls out to pressure washers in the area.  No idea how much this is going to cost.

And here I am, wide awake, after only three hours of sleep into my day.  It’s going to be a long night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joys Of Home Ownership

  1. Keith says:

    Ok, mold problem or “green” problem on the outside? 1 gallon of vinegar, 1 gallon of hydrogen peroxide and 2 cups of boric acid, in a garden sprayer…..spray it on THEN pressure wash after about 10 minutes…..green shit is gone for a few years.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Green shit they’re calling mold. I got enough of it gone to hopefully get Allstate off my ass for the moment. Once the weather improves, I’m definitely trying your recipe. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

