And

The word and is one of the most common words in the English language. I was going to copy and paste a definition, but it can be used in so many different ways that doing so seemed counterproductive. I think we can all agree that one definition is “in addition to”, and it is never synonymous with or.

It’s easier for me to explain what I’m about to bitch about in the context of Boolean logic functions. Here is a basic AND gate:

image

For those unfamiliar, the two lines on the left are inputs. The single line on the right is the output. In order to get an output, both inputs must be satisfied.

Unlike an OR gate, where satisfying either input will activate the output:

image

All this to say that my boss is an idiot of epic proportions.

For reasons that I won’t get into, he decreed the following: If, on Friday night or on Saturday night, my machine is running production and (emphasis mine) if X maintenance activity is due (run based trigger, after every second production shift) then I must come in early and work a twelve hour shift. This was made in writing, in no less than three different places.

Well, it turns out that he inserted an AND gate in the circuit when he meant to use an OR gate.

Friday night, production was scheduled, but X maintenance was not due until after Saturday’s run. So, I showed up at my normal time. And was immediately informed by a lead-type person that I had been expected at the earlier time.

I asked the boss about it. His response:

The conditions are not mutually exclusive it’s either or sorry if you were confused. (Punctuation and capitalization errors his)

Motherfucker, if you meant OR, why in the name of all that is holy did you say AND?

Or am I stupid, and should have known that and can mean or?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And

  1. lpcard says:

    There you go again…trying to apply LOGIC to a situation where none is called for…

  2. Wraith says:

    How the hell do so many stupid people wind up in charge?

Leave a Reply

