Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Knife Review

Recently, I purchased a Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Lightweight Black FRN Plain Edge Knife from Amazon.

image

It is 5.56 inches open; 3.3 inches closed; with a 2.25-inch blade, which is adequate for most non-defensive tasks.

I wanted a smaller option, since my EDC Spyderco Paramilitary 2 causes raised eyebrows under certain circumstances, with a blade length of ~3.5 inches. Spyderco likes their knives quite a bit. The D2 set me back just over fifty dollars. That’s a significant chunk of change.

But I am convinced that you get what you pay for. I have one gripe about the Dragonfly. Only one. The clip isn’t adjustable. You’re stuck carrying it tip up, if you use the clip. Personally, I prefer tip down, but for its intended application, it makes little difference.

It is extremely light (1.2 ounces) and essentially disappears into your pocket. It is well built, with a strong blade lock and good quality VG-10 steel. It comes razor sharp. Literally.

Although my current assignment seldom requires it, my job mandates that I be qualified to wear a full face air purifying respirator. This requires annual fit testing. At B’s request, I stopped shaving over a week ago. Yesterday morning, I was informed that I had to take my fit test before going home.

I could have probably passed the test, but by rule no hair is permitted in the seal area. So, I used the Dragonfly and the camera on my phone to comply. The result was imperfect, but good enough that the guy giving the test made no comment.

Spyderco Dragonfly 2 – Grumpy approved.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

