Ignorance

Some people seem to be perpetually offended, and refuse to learn. Case in point:

An acquaintance who has been driving for a decade and a half didn’t understand what a deductible was. After it was explained to them, they had no idea why anyone would choose a high deductible. Someone called this person dumb.

In my normal, oblivious manner, I disagreed. “Not dumb,” said I. “Ignorant. Knowledge cures ignorance.”

The person that I was attempting to defend looked at me as though I had shot their dog in front of their kids and then raped their grandmother. They were offended that I would insult them in such a manner. I tried to explain that everyone is ignorant about one thing or another. Ignorance is the lack of knowledge or information. Simple ignorance is nothing to be ashamed of, and being called ignorant is not an insult.

It’s probably a good thing that I didn’t add my feelings about willful ignorance, since they chose to remain ignorant of the definition of the word ignorance, and continue to believe that I insulted them.

There are none so blind as those who will not see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

