Maybe I Expect Too Much

…but it would be really nice to have footwear that would last longer than a few months. Once upon a time, there were shoe repair shops. It was common to take shoes to be resoled. Those days are gone.

I only know of one place in the area that offers such services. It’s run by an old Russian guy, and his shop has been empty every time I’ve been by there. I find it sad, really.

I remember a favorite pair of cowboy boots that I wore during the majority of my high school career. I had new soles put on them twice, if my memory is accurate. Despite daily wear, the uppers remained in good condition over the years. I don’t know what happened to them, now that I think about it.

Not so today. In three months, often less, the padding and plastic support behind my heel disintegrates. Yes, I actually untie my shoes before donning or removing them. This is true of thirty dollar athletic shoes all the way up to work boots that cost nearly two hundred dollars. The soles and uppers still have plenty of wear remaining, but the inside is total shit. I’d be fine replacing insoles every few months, and getting new soles every year. But we have become a throw-away society.   There isn’t much that can be done about bare, cracked plastic that scrapes the skin off of the back of one’s heels regardless of how thick one’s socks are.

I guess I just have to face the facts. They don’t make ’em like they used to. Unfortunately, that applies to more than shoes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

