Highway Robbery

When did razor blade refills get so damn expensive? I know they have always been overpriced, but I couldn’t believe what I saw yesterday at the mart of walls.

I’ve either burned through my stash, or said stash is in a box somewhere, I know not where. Anyway, I went to pick up a box of refills for my trusty Mach 3. Fifteen fucking dollars for a pack of five! It’s been a while since I bought any, but I know that they cost less than half that amount not too terribly long ago.

Looks like I might have to go back to a single blade style like my father used, or learn to use and sharpen a straight razor. Fuck Gillette and their multiple blade disposable safety razors.

To get me through, I picked up a package of bics that ran just over a dollar each.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Highway Robbery

  1. That’s still cheaper than my perferred Venus Breeze refills. Which I have given up on in favor of $5 packs of disposables and I use some of my mom’s soap in place of the equally over priced shaving creams/gels. Ain’t cheap to prefer to remain less furry than one would otherwise be.

  2. Neal says:

    Our local consumer guru, Clark Howard, says he’s gone 12 months on a single blade razor by drying it thoroughly after use. Or just go without…it’s the lastest hipster thing.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks. I will have to try that. I only shave every 2-3 days, and I stretch blades as far as I can, typically two months. But I am as tight with a penny as anyone, so of course I am going to whine about it.

Leave a Reply

