Surveyor

Back in April, I contacted a surveyor and asked him to come mark the corners of my property.  Since it is  a corner lot, there are really only three corners and two lines to mark.  He charges a minimum of two hours at a rate of $75 per hour for such jobs.  I figured that he never showed, since I never received a bill, and I never saw evidence of the corners being marked.

Some time later, I did notice that the back line was marked, but there was nothing marking the other line or front corner.  I dismissed it as something that my neighbor had requested, and wrote the dude off as just another asshole who didn’t want my money.

Last week, I got a “second notice” bill from the guy.  I was a bit miffed, since not only had I never received a “first notice”, but the work was never done – at least not completely.  I wrote a letter back, informing him that I would be happy to pay his invoice as soon as he completed the work described therein.  I also included a rough sketch of my lot, on which I indicated what was and what wasn’t marked.

This morning when I got home from work, I noticed that the ribbons marking the upper line appeared new.  I guess he got my letter.  I walked down to the front corner, and miracle of miracles, there was a stake in the ground with a ribbon on it.  I know that none was there before, because I would have seen it while mowing, which I have done several times since April.  It is down a steep, rocky bank, so I know that the local kids didn’t fuck with it.

I put a check in the mail fifteen minutes later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surveyor

  1. Craig says:

    1500.00 to survey my lot.. Original plat was late 1800s and no survey on record since. Found that front of house is not setback far enough. Shed was on property line. Garage was built, with city councils permission, a few feet over the line in an easement. The easement was never used so I am working with other property owner to have city condemn the 16’x300′ easement and my neighbor and I will split it. That will make my garage legally on MY property. The shed has since been moved and the house is grandfathered in.. Purchased the half acre behind my house and legal description includes this. Now to survey that part……..

    • alaskan454 says:

      Ouch! Good luck.

      I only wanted the corners marked unofficially. An official survey would have been much more expensive. What I got was close enough to confirm that the trees I want gone are on my side of the line and nobody can say anything if I make them disappear.

  2. Neal says:

    The crowds finally slacked at the new Cook Out on Moreland Ave. I tried the 4.99 double burger, fries, slaw, and coke. Pretty darn cheap, filling, and good! Only 9 tables inside and was lucky to get a seat.

Leave a Reply

