Eleven?

Really, people?

So far, Pendragon Resurgent has sold eleven copies.  And sales have dropped off precipitously, so I figure that everybody interested in reading it has already bought it.

Eleven copies?  What the fuck is wrong with y’all?  Are you stoopid or something?

I know that dragons and a modern twist on King Arthur may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but you can’t convince me that there are only ten people besides me in the English-speaking world who would enjoy it.  And very few of you would miss the three dollar asking price (for an electronic copy).

Eleven thousand copies shouldn’t be a stretch, especially when she’s giving it away for peanuts. Hell, peanuts are more expensive.

I’d write a review, but I suck at them.  Here’s the promotional blurb from The Last Pendragon, the first book in the series, which you probably should read first (duh!):

“The last thing I expected when I went to grieve in the mountains was to get chased by werewolves, kidnapped by a dragon, or meet a legend. But that was exactly what happened.”–Sara Hawke

Sara Hawke, a highly-educated former PhD candidate in Linguistics, is plunged into a situation that strains her skepticism: first she meets a pack of werewolves while camping on the night of the full moon, then she’s rescued by a man the werewolves seemed to fear. Her rescuer then decides that she’ll be good company until he decides to let her go. Then he tells her that she has the potential to be a sorceress, and offers to teach her.

Along the way, she learns that legends aren’t always what they’re cracked up to be, and are occasionally more than they seem…

And now for the new book:

Life is much better when nobody is trying to kill you.

Sara Hawke, now a university professor, has had five years where nobody was trying to kill her…if you don’t count her course load’s grading. Five years of watching over and helping raise orphaned young dragons.

Her comfortable life comes to an end when she’s attacked by Eastern Dragons, once again—this time, though, her attackers aren’t in the ruling elite. She’s in for the fight of her life again, only this time, Mordred is on the other side of the world, and she must first reach his side before they can succeed.

The running fight to survive brings to light old treachery, blackest magic…and new hope and new allies

I find her work well-written and very entertaining.  I honestly don’t understand why more people haven’t discovered her obvious talent.  I know that everybody and their uncle are trying to make a go at this book thing, and most of them are hacks, but Holly most certainly isn’t.

I don’t know why this has pissed me off so much, but it has.  I have no connection to her.  Not in any way that matters, anyway.  She lets me beta read her stuff before she publishes it, but I get nothing out of the arrangement.  Unless you count advance copies of her stuff. Which is exactly why I begged volunteered for the duty. And I’m not trying to kiss her ass in order to get anything from her – she is happily married, and has been for right at a decade if I’m not mistaken.

I did contact her before posting this to make sure she wouldn’t take offense to an abrasive post about her work.  She didn’t give me permission, but she didn’t ask me not to, either. She’s cool that way.

So I ask this in closing: What the hell is wrong with you?  You’re here, wasting your time reading the pathetic, perhaps psychotic ramblings of a random stranger whose vocabulary seems to be limited to four-letter words.  For less than the cost of a gallon of gasoline or a cup of bad coffee, you could be enjoying some real entertainment.  Now, GIT you git!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eleven?

  1. Larry says:

    I got mine. 😀

Leave a Reply

