Verizon Motorola Moto-G Review

I’ve been using a Motorola moto-g android-based smartphone for a little over three months. My service is through Verizon Wireless prepaid. That part may or may not be relevant.

I upgraded from a Samsung model that couldn’t be updated beyond Android 2.X operating system. One of the apps that I wanted to use would only run on 4.0 or higher, so I used that as my primary excuse to upgrade. I needn’t have bothered.

Neither the non-expandable 8GB of storage nor the unremovable battery have been cause for concern. Based on my utilization of the phone, I don’t expect that to change over the life of the unit.

It is slightly larger than my old Samsung, but not a behemoth like the new Galaxy series or iPhone models. In that respect, it is ideal for me.

It is also fast and very capable. Run all the apps simultaneously that you want. It can handle it. The display is as perfect as my old eyes can discern. Battery life is good.

It does have glaring faults, though.

The first two are related. When you are typing or selecting text, it is impossible to place the cursor anywhere along the outside half inch of the screen. Not difficult. Impossible. Also, if the screen reorients while you are entering text, the cursor will jump to a random location within your document and replace part of a word with the autocorrect version of the last word you were typing. The fact that the automatic screen orientation feature is extremely sensitive further exacerbates this issue.

The other major problem may be the phone, Verizon, or both. The app that I wanted to run but couldn’t on my old phone was TorGuard. It is a VPN service that I have been using for a while. I loaded the app, set it up, and tried to use it. It connected fine, but dropped out and went through the reconnect sequence whenever there was any significant network activity. It might sync my cloud reader app or check my email without dropping out, but anything else? Forget it.

Once it reconnected, it would usually hold long enough to finish whatever immediate task was in progress, but if I wanted to visit a different website, it would repeat the process. I included Verizon as a suspect because this only happened when connected to the internet via cell towers. On Wi-Fi, it maintained the VPN connection.

To verify that it wasn’t a problem with the TorGuard app, I downloaded and manually configured FeatVPN. Same exact issues.

All in all, I am satisfied with the phone. Not happy, and I avoid typing as much as I can, but I can live with it. Two and a half stars out of five.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Verizon Motorola Moto-G Review

  1. In the “Display” settings, try unchecking the “Auto-rotate screen” setting.

    Just thinking that may help. May not, but it’s worth a try.

    I don’t have any suggestion for the VPN thing, though. Sorry.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks! That definitely helps with the “insert text at random locations” problem. It leaves me with the difficulties in selecting text, and of course the VPN issue. But, since I already bought the damn thing and am pretty much stuck with it, any improvement is a plus.

      Again, thank you.

Leave a Reply

