Empty

I delivered Dear Niece back to her western Pennsylvania home this past weekend. It was probably time for her to go back, if not past time. She had been here almost a year.

Her father has some health issues, and now that she is back in town, she can look after him if need be. Her dog was little more than a puppy when she left, and with her away, there was no one to properly discipline and exercise it. As a result, the thing is quite a porker.

I felt horrible leaving her there. The house looked as if her father hadn’t lifted a finger in the direction of anything housework related since she left. Her lifeline to the outside – the internet – wasn’t working. Her father wasn’t there when I dropped her off, so we had no way to know if the service was active. The water was off, but again, no way to know if it was an outage, or a work around for the faucets that have been leaking for years. There was more, but you get the idea.

I’m trying to help her with a plan to get out of there and on her own. It’s going to be a particularly tough road for her, for reasons I won’t get into, but she can and will do it. Honestly, she has little choice.

But I’d gotten used to having her around, and the house feels particularly empty now. I’m getting a little more done – it’s easier to cut lumber at 0400 when there is no one in the house trying to sleep. Fuck the neighbors. They play their bass-heavy “music” at all hours. Not my problem if my saw disturbs their sleep.

I miss having her to hang out with, and to suggest stupid TV shows to watch cough*PrettyLittleLiars*cough as a way to relax and pass my down time. And I have to make my own lunch, too. But she has her own life to figure out, as do I.

Best of luck with your quest for independence, L. I’ll help you however I can. Thanks for the visit, and for your help with the house. I love you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Empty

  1. Wraith says:

    If your neighbors are that inconsiderate, I’d be strapped when cutting wood. Never know when folks like that will get testy, even if they have no right to.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the advice. I am always armed, and usually visibly so. Well, except on the rare occasions when I forget my piece on the way out the door to work. Cutting the grass Monday morning? Glock on hip. Greeting the builders for my storage building this morning? Ditto. Even working inside, I have it on. One never knows, even in the best of neighborhoods. Which this is not.

  2. Love you too and miss you lots.

Leave a Reply

