Rifle EarPro

I have been using electronic hearing protection for quite a few years. I have owned a few cheapie models tagged with Champion or Winchester labels, up to a mid-range set marketed by Dillon Precision. All of them perform adequately. Obviously, the Dillon model was better (was, because they were a fire casualty a few years ago) but not six times better as the price would indicate.

My problem is that none of them work very well for rifle shooting. The size, shape, or both prevent a good cheek weld. That leaves me with passive earplugs as the only option. Noise reduction runs from less than twenty to middle-upper twenties. That will save me from immediate deafness, but prevents comfortable conversation on the line, and only offers a minimal level of protection from the .338.

Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rifle EarPro

  1. The rubber earplugs are easier to remove and re-seat for conversation between shots. Like these: http://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/howard-leight-airsoft-multiple-use-earplugs-4-pack/pid-33370?N=297483708&Ntt=earplugs&Ntk=All

    I can’t find my pair like that. And I keep the foam ones around anyway for cold and/or allergy season–they’re handy to be able to sleep while your sleeping partner is snoring.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Those are what I use at work, and I agree – they are an order of magnitude better than the best foamies out there. I was just hoping that an active option was out there that was made in a way that would be effective for rifle shooting. I do appreciate the suggestion.

  2. Glenfilthie says:

    I don’t have a solution Grump. All I do is I simply double up: I bought a bag full of those cheapie disposable earplugs like the ones you get at work – and put my muffs on over that. I snuggle right up to my guns when I am shooting and sometimes my muffs are clunking on the comb of the stock a bit – but it doesn’t bother me in the least. I don’t talk to people when I am shooting and don’t want them talking to me.

    Our protocol at the rod and gun club is that the curtain comes down every 15~20 minutes so that folks can go out to the berms and change targets. We either do our talking on the way down or sit back and relax and chat behind the firing line while we wait for others to change targets. When the range goes hot and the curtain goes up, everyone starts shooting again. You have time to BS and time to shoot. It works for us, but your mileage may vary.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I, too have little interest in conversation while actually shooting, but I am not opposed to a little banter between volleys. And I tend to forget to reinstall my ears after cold range sessions – only to be painfully reminded by the first shot. Basically, I’m lazy. I want a “set it and forget it” option that doesn’t interfere with normal conversation and isn’t likely to get in the way of a stock. I guess such a product does not exist, at least at a price that I can afford.

  3. Brass says:

    I’m really liking Surefire’s new ear pro.

Leave a Reply

