Beating a Dead Horse

I just read the following in a post by a blogger whom I have chosen not to name or link.  Mostly because we’ve had discussions in the past and have always had to agree to disagree, and I’m sure this topic would be no different. This is just a small snippet of his post, so I see no harm in lifting a single paragraph without providing a link.

I’m going to make a statement about open carry, and some of you may not like it. I support open carry, but only as a statement. Tactically, it’s a bad idea. When I’m in public, I don’t want anyone to know I’m carrying. I don’t want aspiring robbers to pick me as their first target. If I ever have to draw my weapon on a criminal, I want to have the element of surprise. Granted, open carry is a hell of a deterrent to crime. But I’m going to carry concealed. (emphasis mine)

Can someone please cite one single incident in which this has actually happened?  Please?  No?  Then can we shut the fuck up with this tired ass argument?  It’s become more tiresome than the “blood in the streets” predictions of the anti-rights crowd every time there is a discussion that involves relaxing gun laws.

Dude is a long-time cop and multiple-tour combat vet.  He should know tactics.  As such, people are more likely to take his opinions seriously than those of the average internet commando.  I’m sorry.  I really am.  I should just ignore statements like this.  But this particular argument is one of those things that really pisses me off.   Carry openly.  Carry concealed.  Don’t carry at all.  I really don’t give a fuck.  Just don’t spout ignorant shit as gospel that is anything but.  Theoretically, it could happen, but it probably won’t – since there has yet to be a documented case of it ever happening.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

