Liars

I had a date scheduled with Annie for Saturday. A crooked yankee chinaman has forced me to cancel. I’ll explain.

Shooting Buddy and I will be meeting up on Saturday morning for a long overdue range day. My Savage 111 .338 Lapua magnum, also known as Annie, was scheduled to make an appearance for 300 yard zero.

I remembered this past weekend that I still don’t have a sufficiently powerful device to enable me to accurately identify POI at 300 yards. My 36X Weaver and my cheap 15-40X spotting scope are equally worthless in locating holes in paper beyond about 150 yards. Since no local retailer carries astronomy telescopes (the least expensive alternative I could think of to a higher magnification spotting scope), and amazon purposely delays shipment unless you pay for expedited service, I resorted to flea-bay and searched for a nearby seller.

I located an acceptable product at a tolerable price from a guy who claimed to be in New York (spit!). Estimated delivery to me was on or before Friday, April 4th. In the early morning hours Monday, I placed the buy-it-now bid and paid.

A couple hours ago, I got a notice from flea-bay saying that it had shipped. I clicked through to the website for the Brown Truck of Happiness, and confirmed that it had indeed shipped.

From fucking Ontario, Kalifornistan. Scheduled delivery date, Monday, April 7, 2014.

So, Annie stays home on Saturday. I’m not going to be the asshole who calls for a cold range after every shot so I can check my target, and I damn sure won’t be popping off ten or fifteen rounds between target checks. Not at five bucks per boom.

Like I said. Fucking crooked (lied about the item location in the listing) yankee (claims NY as home) chinaman (surname per PayPal is of Chinese origin).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Liars

  1. Glenfilthie says:

    Sorry to hog your comments, Grump – I promise to stop commenting and cluttering up your blog!!!… but I am in the same boat with spotting scopes too. Can you provide a quick range report on the spotting scope when you get it? If you have the time?

    Gun sounds interesting too…

    • alaskan454 says:

      Please don’t apologize for commenting. There is no cluttering. I appreciate comments – they let me know that someone is out there. Not that I’m looking to win any popularity contests, of course. 🙂

      I will post about the scope after I get it and have a chance to try it out, but it’s probably going to be a while. I seldom get time off. To wit, this weekend’s range trip was initially scheduled for back in January.

      The scope is a cheap entry-level Barska astronomy telescope. I imagine it sucks for looking at the stars, but thought maybe it would work for locating bullet holes. At <$60, I figured it was worth the risk. Time will tell.

      The gun is a lot of fun, even if prohibitively expensive to shoot. So far, round count is 24. Also known as ~$120. But fun. Did I mention fun?

  2. Larry says:

    Well, crap.

    On the positive side of things…smoke and noise manufacturing is always good, and I do have a new 30-06 to play with…

  3. Keith says:

    Hmmmmm, spotting scopes……maybe a buddy with a decent 6-24 x 50 on a rifle on a rest would work as well. And serve two purposes! I think I bought a Tasco Celestrial Somefuck astronomy scope some years back. I can see all the details on the moon, never tried it out at 300 yards. I can still see the wood post at 400 with my Bushnell E-Lite, zoomed all the way up.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I have a 36X scope on the. 338 and a 15-40X budget spotting scope. With my old eyes, neither allow me to consistently find the holes in the paper at 200 or beyond. That is why I bought the cheap astronomy telescope. I had planned to test its capabilities last weekend, but heavy rain and paper targets didn’t seem to be the best combination. I will eventually try it out, and will post the results.

      Getting old sucks, but it beats the alternative.

Leave a Reply

