Feed Readers

I have been looking for a good, cross-platform feed reader since google pulled the plug on theirs last year.

I tried The Old Reader, but for months it was down almost as much as it was up. Perhaps this was due to the massive influx of new users following the google reader termination. Maybe it works reliably now. I don’t know.

I then followed the advice of a blogger that I follow, although I do not recall who, and tried feedbin.me. It is a pay service, and the logic was that if it generates revenue directly, those in charge have more motivation to make sure that it works well.

It works. Somewhat. Although I have not tested to verify, it gives all the symptoms of being bandwidth heavy. This is not an issue at home, but it sucks with the phone. Particularly since I use it more from the phone than anywhere else.

I am used to the average website taking 45-90 seconds to load, depending on how graphics-heavy it is. The top page for feedbin takes almost five minutes, sometimes longer. I could still live with this if it only happened once per day or less. But for some unknown reason, I have to reload the page every hour or so, or it won’t toggle the unread/read flag as I open items.

Since I don’t have the need to refresh the page at home, I am guessing that it has more to do with my phone than feedbin, but I need something that works with the equipment that I currently own and use. Especially if I am paying for it. Even if the cost is less than ten cents per day.

There are programs that work well with ubuntu, but have no android version, making sync impossible. If anyone has any suggestions of a reader that works well and has versions that work on and sync between both a Linux PC and an Android phone, please let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Feed Readers

  1. Neal says:

    I really really like Inoreader. It works on my windows and ubuntu laptops and my blackberry. I just added you yesterday.

    Oh, and man up with your t-stat setting. I keep mine on 49deg and I live in atlanta freaking ga. That’s right, I’m a cheap bastard.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Welcome to my humble and often vulgar corner of the internet. I will certainly look into Inoreader. Thanks for the suggestion.

      As for the thermostat, I don’t have one. My heat pump installation is not complete, mostly since there are no walls or ceilings anywhere except in the bedrooms. Kinda pointless when the heat goes straight up and out the gable vents. But 49?!? I am way too much of a wimp for that.

      • Neal says:

        Made do like you when I hand built my house 20 years ago. To this day the only furniture I own is in the smallest bedroom where a space heater does fine. I wouldn’t even keep the furnace on if it weren’t for renting out the in-law suite. Tenant makes up the diff with his propane heater. Life for most folks is waaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy too f-ing easy.

  2. AlexB says:

    I’ve been using Feedly since Google pulled the plug on their reader. It’s the best replacement that I’ve tried so far. They also have an Android app that completely syncs with your PC. Hope that helps out.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I second the Feedly suggestion. Android app works well also.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the feedback. When I went there this morning, all my feeds as set up six months ago were already there. I forgot that I tried it at the same time as The Old Reader. I think I liked TOR’s layout better or something. In any case, I will update my feeds, download the Andriod app and see if I can get used to it. Same for Inoreader, although that one is going to be a fresh setup. I have about two weeks of feedbin left to decide. Again, thank you.

  4. Neal says:

    Feedly is a download which means you can’t just borrow someone’s laptop to check your feeds. And the IT nazis where I work won’t allow downloads period.

    • Jennifer says:

      You do not have to download feedly. Just go to Feedly.com and sign in. You do have to download the app to use it on your phone.

    • alaskan454 says:

      For the first time since 1996, I’m not important enough to rate computer access at work, hence the need for a good mobile interface. Although use of personal electronic devices on the production floor is against the rules. But 90% of the woekforce would be fired were that rule actually enforced.

Leave a Reply

