Good Luck With That

I like carbonated beverages. So much so that I built my own bubble-infusing system. Kool-aid might suck, but it sucks less when it is carbonated.

Of late, I have been too busy to roll my own. I have resorted to buying from the vending folks at work. I know. The average markup is probably over 100%. Even so, I indulge.

Tonight, I wanted something without caffeine. I went through the cooler. There weren’t many options, and the ones that were there cost more than my normal Diet Pepsi. I mean, $1.00 for a twenty ounce bottle is approaching highway robbery, but I will occasionally pay it. However, my quest led me to price check all of the ones available. Only about four of the 20+ in the cooler are only $1.00. The rest go for $1.25.

I’m all for capitalism. Including the part where I say no, thank you are you out of your fucking mind? and keep my money.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Luck With That

  1. AlexB says:

    Wow, you got it pretty easy. I’m stuck behind enemy lines in Kalifornia and the minimum price you see for a twenty ounce anything in vending machine is $1.50. Normally most drinks go for about $1.75-$2.00.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Ouch! I guess I’ll be buying the 4-pk of 24-oz for $2.50 and have yet another reason to be thankful that I live in semi-free America. Good luck out there. Stay safe! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. GarandGal says:

    i know of two vending machines in my area that sell 24 oz sodas for $1. They are privately owned and the shop stocks them. otherwise they range from $1.25-$1.50, and I’ve seen some in the $2-$2.50 range in Charleston. gas stations here have the 16 oz bottles for $1.58 or so, which is ridiculous considering you can walk down the aisle and get a two liter for $1.50!
    we have a soda stream we are considering modifying but the syrups are kinda weak imo. the attempts we made with kool-aid were unsuccessful, stirring the mix and sugar into the carbonated water made it flat, and carbonating the pre-mixed solution shot sticky stuff everywhere. i’d really like to try carbonated sweet tea but i’d rather not lacquer the cabinets again in the process lol

    • alaskan454 says:

      My system cost a little bit to set up, mostly the cost of the CO2 tank and regulator, but once set up, one tank does a lot, and the cost is quickly recovered.

      CO2 tank (I chose a 20-pounder, but any size will work) + a regulator + tubing + a quick-connect valve (http://morebeer.com/products/ball-lock-gas-barb.html) + carbonator cap (http://morebeer.com/products/carbonator-cap.html).

      Mix your choice of beverage and put it into a bottle with the appropriate threads. Most, from 16 ounce to two liter use the same one. Make sure it is cold. The liquid won’t absorb very well unless it is cold – 32-35 is ideal. Screw the cap on, connect the valve to the cap, and open the regulator. 30-40 psi seems to work best for me. Swish the liquid around for a couple minutes to help the liquid absorb the CO2. Turn off the regulator and disconnect the valve. Let the bottle set for a few minutes to settle, as you would any soda that got shook up. Opening it immediately will cause a the same mess. After a short wait, remove the carbonator cap (slowly, just in case you didn’t wait quite long enough) and enjoy, or replace the cap with a regular cap, refrigerate, and enjoy later.

      Some suggest a DIY setup with a tire valve stem to save a few bucks, but IMO the two piece quick connect is worth the $20 to minimize the risk of making a mess.

Leave a Reply

