What An Elitist Prick

pdb has a new-ish post, in which he pontificates about Open Carry. I was fine agreeing to disagree with him on the subject until I read this:

If you want to do Open Carry right, don’t be a dick, put the rifle and MOLLE away, put on a decent pistol in a retention holster (ie, not an XD in a Serpa), dress up neatly, obey the law, don’t be a dick, and go about your business.(emphasis mine)

Hey, asshole! What prezactly would meet your minimum standard? Would a Les Baer 1911 in a custom alligator skin thumb break holster attached to a belt made from three layers of buffalo hide be acceptable to his highness? Nah, that’d almost certainly be too “ghetto”.

This strikes a nerve with me for several reasons. First of all, as mentioned in a recent post, I have carried many pistols in Serpa holsters for more than a decade. Not once did any of these holsters fail to perform as expected.

Second, although I have never owned an XD, I own quite a few Glocks. Most consider the two in the same class, with similar numbers of proponents and detractors on each side. The only time any of my Glocks had malfunctions that were not related to ammunition was when I had a Ghost trigger connector installed in my G20. It worked fine until the weather got cold. Then I started having multiple failure-to-fire malfunctions on every magazine due to light primer strikes. I yanked the Ghost out, and haven’t had any problems since.

Third, I have an issue with his whole idea of the only way to properly Open Carry. Granted, one is less likely to attract attention, either positive or negative, if one is well-dressed, well-groomed, and excessively polite. However, if I haven’t shaved in a week or showered within the last three days, and I want to put on my White Power t-shirt and OC into the McDonalds in the roughest and blackest part of town, there isn’t a fucking thing wrong with that. Stupid as shit, but not wrong.

The elitist attitude is what galls me the most, though. If someone only has a HiPoint, a Galco Matrix holster and a Dickies work belt, why should they not Open Carry? I did with that very ensemble. Fortunately, I have other options that I feel are more suitable. The same can’t be said about everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What An Elitist Prick

  1. Wraith says:

    I’ll back you on that.

    I do dig a lot of the stuff pdb posts. But who the fuck died and made him the Overlord of How We Should Do Shit? I’ll strap on my piece in whatever holster I choose, throw on my worn jeans and thrashed Sisters of Mercy tour shirt, and stroll on down the block with my shaved head and tats on display, without a worry. I’m not likely to encounter a problem here in what most people call “Arizona,” and what we call “America.”

    Say what you will, but I’m fucking tired of tiptoeing around the delicate sensibilities of a bunch of cowards who aren’t fit to polish our Founders’ knobs. I carry because it’s my God-given human right, and if anyone has a problem with that, they can just try and deprive me of it.

  2. GarandGal says:

    So what am I supposed to do, wear heels and a dress while mowing the lawn?

    • alaskan454 says:

      According to the expert, it would appear so. But the dress would have to be from a real designer – no knockoffs. /sarcasm

      I get what he’s trying to say, which he seems to be directing towards the OC “activists”, but he took it too far. Especially with the XD/Serpa thing. Maybe such a combination would not be OK for him, but that is like the libs trying to ban guns for everyone because they don’t trust themselves to have them.

      Thanks for stopping by. Hope you and yours are well. 🙂

  3. GarandGal says:

    things are same old around here, thanks for asking.
    I do get his point, and I do agree that strapping on an ar is a bit much for oc at the mall, but I’m right there with ya on the overstepping. I can’t oc here except on my own property, but when we’re visiting the in-laws and do oc I don’t give a rip about my attire beyond is it sturdy enough to support the weight of my XD9 sc. Which happens to be a reliable and accurate pistol that I very much like. I do get that being tidy and well dressed, soft spoken and polite gets more positive results than loud in your face tactics, and that the positive results from a hundred positive interactions are far outweighed by the negative fallout caused by one dumbass, but he comes across as elitist. If you can’t afford a “decent” weapon, if you perform manual labor for a living and dress for it, if you prefer to use a holster *I* don’t like well then you’re a dick!

Leave a Reply

