Pulled Rabbit Barbecue

This is my version of this recipe for pork that I linked a while back.  It is spicy, vinegar-based barbecue, also known as North Carolina style.  If you prefer the sweeter Kansas City variety, or a mustard-based sauce, then this isn’t the one for you.  But try it.  It is good.

I made it yesterday with some rabbit that had been in my freezer for well over a year.  Between Thumper being somewhat freezer burnt, and the fact that I drained the liquid off but left the heat on and the meat in the crock pot for several hours before I finally remembered to de-bone, it was not the rousing success for which I had hoped.  Was it good? Absolutely.  Better than sex? Not even close.

I am still tweaking the spice quantities, but what I have listed below is close for me.  Adjust to your taste.

You will need the following ingredients:

  • Five to six pounds of rabbit
  • One tablespoon of freshly ground sea salt
  • One-half teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper
  • Two cups of vinegar (cider is preferred, but white works)
  • Two tablespoons of brown sugar
  • Two tablespoons of Tabasco (or your favorite hot sauce)
  • One half tablespoon of liquid smoke
  • Two teaspoons of cayenne pepper
  • Two teaspoons of red pepper flakes
  • One half teaspoon of Red Savina habanero pepper powder
  • One eighth teaspoon of ghost pepper powder
  1. Situate the meat in the crock pot, add the salt and pepper, and pour the vinegar in.  Put the lid on, and cook on low heat for ten to twelve hours, until the meat falls easily off the bone.
  2. Decant two cups of liquid for use later.  Discard the remainder.
  3. Remove the bones and shred the meat.
  4. Return the liquid from step two to the crock pot.
  5. Add the remaining ingredients, and mix slowly, but thoroughly.  If you mix too rapidly, you will send some of the ghost pepper powder into the air, where you will inhale it. A coughing fit will ensue.
  6. Return the meat to the crock pot and mix. Replace the lid, and set to warm until ready to serve.
  7. Enjoy!

There was not nearly as much heat as I had expected.  I have come to respect ghost pepper powder, so I was intentionally conservative with it.  Next time, I will probably double the amount listed above, and maybe increase the Red Savina, too.  If it doesn’t make me cry, it ain’t hot enough.  And I wasn’t even close to tears.  More liquid smoke wouldn’t have hurt, either. It is a work in progress, but I believe it to be a good starting point, to be tweaked to suit individual tastes.  In truth, most folks will probably find it spicy enough without any habanero or ghost pepper powder at all.  Then again, most people don’t have the addiction to heat that I seem to have developed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pulled Rabbit Barbecue

  1. GarandGal says:

    I had a nice, well thought out post that explained all of my reasoning all typed out and the browser ate it. Screw it. Avoid grinders, look for a machine that has screens instead (compare them to the high end machines and get one that’s closest to those, at the time I bought my machine very few of the top of the line machines had grinders and all of them thoroughly screened the water before it hit the grinder) look for one that screens the water before it recirculates it, preferably through the same screens that filter the drain because you don’t want particles clogging the arms, and then watch the sales for high-mid range machines even though that may only bring them down to the upper end of the price range of the mid-level machines. I have a Bosch that rocks. I had three mid-level machines (all with grinders) that did not, and none of them lasted more than 18 months. Our water pressure is within normal range according to the county but it appears to not be enough to handle the debris from a grinder so it kills the pump and rots out the innards.
    also, don’t expect the sales associates to know squat beyond the unimportant bells and whistles features listed on the stickers, you’ll have to get in there and see for yourself what is what and where.

  2. GarandGal says:

    Have you noticed that it’s becoming unusual for a manufacturer to talk about their products construction much anymore? It’s all about bells and whistles these days.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I hadn’t paid any attention to it before, but you are right. I don’t know if it is because the average consumer just doesn’t care, or if they are simply trying to use the shiny to distract today’s ADD-leaning society away from the fact that their product is a steaming pile of shit.

Leave a Reply

