Twenty-Three Fucking Degrees

As I sit at the computer, my Weather Report applet indicates 23°F at the weather station nearest my location.  That, boys and girls, is COLD!

My room is reasonably warm, though.  Plastic is taped over the opening to the closet, since Drywall Dude has yet to finish it.  A furniture pad is suspended outside the entry doorway by two screws.  There are multiple small openings around the edge and at the bottom where the pad does not sit flush.  The insulation in the ceiling only covers about three-quarters of the area.  A single 1000W quartz heater hums quietly beside the doorway, circulating precious warmth.

I am comfortable in my t-shirt and sweat pants.  This is such a nice change from last year.  Sure, I still shiver when I go out into the unfinished part of the house to eat or use the facilities, but my room is comfortable.  Last year, I had three of those heaters in this very same room, and always woke up with a cold nose if the outside temperature was below 45°F.  I guess the wall and ceiling insulation, and the fact that there are no holes, even small ones, in the ceiling have made the difference.

Dear Niece is running the other two identical heaters in the adjacent room, with a fully insulated ceiling and the same doorway covering. Despite the extra heater, and the fact that the room is only about seventy percent the size of mine, she is barely as comfortable.  Then again, she is a wimp.  You’d think that she’d be more acclimated to the cold, having lived her entire life significantly north of the Mason-Dixon line. You’d be wrong.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twenty-Three Fucking Degrees

  1. GarandGal says:

    That brings up a question that bears asking. What kind of heating system are you looking at?

    • alaskan454 says:

      I have a 2 1/2 ton mini-split ductless heat pump on site and partially installed. It seldom gets cold enough here but what a heat pump will work fine. The space heaters will pick up any slack. I just have to finish running the electric and refrigerant lines, and fire it up.

  2. GarandGal says:

    You might consider a wood stove too. 🙂

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the suggestion. I had considered it. Hell, I have enough trees on the lot to feed it for at least two years. The problem is that the chimney is in the wrong place, and the only opening is under the house where the oil furnace was. Tapping into the existing chimney, or running a new vent would require knocking holes in brick – a task that I am ill prepared to attempt. I thought about a pellet stove, since the vent requirements are less, but the vent would still have to penetrate the brick veneer and/or the roof. I want nothing to do with either. Down the road, if the heat pump can’t cut it, I may have no choice.

  3. Larry says:

    23 degrees *shudder*

    that shit just ain’t right…

    • alaskan454 says:

      It actually dropped to 21 shortly after I published that post. Low 20’s in mid-November in the fucking Carolinas. Like you said, that shit just ain’t right.

Leave a Reply

