Liar

I am known for having chosen the Ruger Alaskan revolver chambered in .454 Casull as my primary carry handgun. It remains my choice, years later.  Via Tam, I found this survey today regarding how folks carry their heaters.  Go check it out.

After thinking about it for purposes of responding to the survey, I had to acknowledge that the Alaskan is not the gun I carry most often. That title belongs to my KelTec PF9. How did that happen? Easily. I always have it. It comes with me to work (but stays in the car) every day. When I go places besides work and OC the Alaskan, the KT is on BUG duty in my weak side pants pocket or waistband.

Even during the couple weeks that the holster for my Alaskan was misplaced and I carried a Glock 20 (10mm), the KT was there as my BUG.  When I want something with a smaller footprint, I switch to my Glock 29, the “compact” 10mm. KT always comes along for the ride.  When I must be discreet, KT is strong side IWB. I guess that makes the KT my primary carry, even though more often than not it serves in a backup role.

And makes me a liar for claiming that the Alaskan is my primary.

Oh, well. I never claimed to be a saint.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Liar

  1. GarandGal says:

    Liar Liar pants on fire! Hey, maybe you can put that standing water to good use. If nothing else it’ll be interesting to see the look on the plumbers face… 😀
    My edc is an LC9 that I have a rocky relationship with. I love it’s compactness and it’s laser site, don’t love the heavy and long trigger pull or the sharp recoil. Doesn’t help that the pull is soo long that I get a hair flinchy waiting for it to break. Hence I only practice enough with it to keep myself up to my own standard of good enough, which is a paper plate sized spread in center mass at 10 yards. Thing is I had test fired an LCP and liked it but wanted the 9mm (the display LC9 that I handled had a much different pull, turns out it was also damaged) and it really is otherwise perfect for me for pocket carry, so my husband scrimped and saved for it then went on a four month long search before he found it locally so I’m reluctant to get rid of it. *le sigh*

    • GarandGal says:

      Sorry to have whined about my issues in your comments LOL

    • alaskan454 says:

      The LC9 trigger sounds a lot like a much earlier generation KelTec I bought back in the 90’s. It was heavy and long. I vowed never again would I own a KT, but they got it right on the PF9. It’s no 1911 trigger, but it is pretty good.

      As for shooting, I can knock down all the six 8″ plates at 20 yards pretty consistently within the 7+1 capacity. It does snap a bit, though. Not that I pay that much attention.

  2. Wraith says:

    Hey, I carry the same thing. A lightweight 9 at the small of the back beats an M-60 left at home. 😉

    • alaskan454 says:

      Truer words never spoken.

      About the only place that causes me to change my carry method/choice is work, but then again, it is the one place I go more than everywhere else combined.

Leave a comment