Every Time

Want it to cool off?  Tell me, and I’ll make it happen.  Guaranteed.

The heated mattress pad that I have on my sleeping apparatus is the wrong size, and as a result, it bunches up as I move during the night.  I tolerate it because it keeps me warm.

A month or so ago, it warmed up healthily, so I removed the pad.  Two days later, a cold snap hit, and I had to put it back on.  The day before yesterday, I had again gotten fed up with the lumps and discomfort caused by the pad.  The last couple weeks have been upper-70’s to pushing 90 during the day, and only cooling off to the 60’s at night.  I just knew I wouldn’t need it again until autumn.  I took it off, folded it up and put it away.  Last night, it was forty fucking degrees.  Tonight it is supposed to be 45.

I guess I should stop whining.  At least I didn’t just lose a fight with a tornado.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Every Time

  1. We have had the same kind of weather here. Except that last night it got down to around 30. Earlier today the low for tonight was 32, but now it says 39. Still cold either way. I’d not yet put my heater away, but I have not bothered to turn it on again yet either. I’d also put my extra blankets away so I just put those back on the bed and that’s been enough. The thing that really bothers me about this is the frosts that have murdered my lilac bush; because I wasn’t expecting the frosts I wasn’t prepared to cover it. I love lilacs but I don’t think I am meant to have any because every time I get some, something happens to them. I’ve been trying for years and this one was the first one that seemed like it was going to survive. Nope. My pretty bleeding hearts have suffered quite a bit from the late frosts too. sigh.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I imagine late frosts cost a lot of people up your way. It hasn’t gotten quite that cold here, but it’s been cool enough to make one wonder if it really is late May in the Carolinas.

  2. Craig says:

    Want so me cheese with that whine? 🙂

  3. lpcard says:

    It’s my fault. I cleaned the car up and entered it into a car show, it rained and then got cold.

  4. GarandGal says:

    Please don’t put it back on until after my snow peas finish making seed otherwise they’ll germinate and rot in the pods.

Leave a Reply

