History

I made it.

I just finished my first shower in the new-to-me house.  Getting to this point has been tedious, and this morning held no shortage of excitement.  I finished all the final plumbing connections on the supply side last night.  My stubborn body woke me up at a little after 0600 for the upteenth day in a row (at the new house – I can sleep until 0800 at the old one), despite working until after midnight.  I went under the house to install the final piece of the tub drain, and open the supply valve.  The drain was first, and went reasonably smoothly.  Then for the moment of truth.  I gradually opened the valve, and heard air moving through the system as the hot water heater refilled and water found its way through the system.  I left the tub valve open to allow the lines to bleed.

I hadn’t walked through the door good when a connection that I had neglected to glue solvent weld broke loose.  I barely remember getting out the back door, around to the opposite corner of the house where the entry access is, back under the house and to the far corner just below the back door where the main supply valve is to turn it off.  I do remember my glasses getting knocked most of the way off of my face, so I guess I didn’t duck quite far enough.  Low-crawling is hard for an old man.

After cleaning up the mess, drying the pipe, and taking the appropriate action to properly prevent a recurrence, I sat down to surf the net while waiting the prescribed hour for the joint to cure.  After about forty-five minutes, I got tired of waiting and went back under the house to open the valve.  No rushing water greeted me when I walked back inside, so I proceeded to bleed the washer connection and bathroom sink lines.  Then I opened the toilet valve.  So far, so good.

I noticed a drip on the floor under the tub control valve.  I was certain that I had cleaned up this area, so I checked all four connections to the valve.  The elbow on the cold line just upstream from the valve was the culprit.  I didn’t have any more CPVC to MPT adapters, but there was just enough room to fit another elbow onto the remaining exposed pipe.  Back under the house to turn the water off.  On the way by the hot water heater, I noticed that the hot outlet was damp.  I guess I didn’t tighten that fitting enough before attaching the lines.  Oh, well, one problem at a time.

I figured it would be safe to turn on the hot water heater at this point, since it had to be full, and it could be heating up while the joints from this repair cured.  After repairing the offending line, waiting the requisite hour, and turning the water back on, I was unable to find any other leaks.  It was at this point that I took my shower.  A nice, long, hot shower.  It seems as though the elements were the only problem with the hot water heater, because the water was hot.  Hooray for small victories!

I still have a lot left to do.  I noticed that the shower connection is leaking where the pipe goes into the wall.  I’ll investigate that tonight.  Maybe.  I just walked around and inspected all the visible joints, and found that there is a pinhole leak in the same fucking connection to the cold side of the tub control valve.  Yes, the one I already repaired once this morning.  I’m off to Lowe’s to buy more of those adapters, and then to work.  I hope it doesn’t explode before I get back.  No fucking way I’m going back under the house to turn the valve off.  I’m clean, and I’m going to stay that way at least until I get to work.  I’ll fix it when I get home.

Once (if) I get all the leaks fixed, I need to go around and properly anchor the lines in place.  Then I have to finish the tile, at least out a couple feet, and install/plumb the vanity and bathroom sink.  Then I will have a mostly functional bathroom and I can start on the kitchen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to History

  1. Larry says:

    Congrats!

    Good thing you fly solo there, what with the lack of walls in the place…

    • alaskan454 says:

      Well, there are walls. Sort of. The tub surround is attached to one of them, and I did put up one section length-wise behind the toilet. Top half there is still open, and it is completely open to the hallway.

  2. hilljohnny says:

    remember the flashlight discussion? I finally found the mini-mag conversion kit I mentioned. here is their website. http://www.niteize.com/collection/LED-Upgrades.asp
    looks like they have improved it since I bought mine. may have to upgrade.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for letting me know. I couldn’t find my mini-mag, so I opted for a Nebo Blueline that cost less than the conversion kit. It has survived so far. If I ever do locate my maglite, I’m definitely getting a conversion kit for it.

Leave a Reply

