Bacon

I love bacon.  I prefer the thicker sliced varieties, but it is all good.  Unless it is burnt to a fucking crisp.  Doing so is like unto blasphemy.  Chewy with a little bit if a crunch is my favorite, but crispy and crunchy are good, too.  However, charring it to the point where it has been reduced to base carbon is just plain wrong.

Unfortunately, that seems to be the preferred method of the majority of fast food restaurants in the area.  I have recently consumed products containing bacon from Bojangles, Biscuitville, and Sonic.  While consuming each, I thought I was going to break a fucking tooth.  Hardees gets it right more often than not, and what Wendys puts on their bacon burgers is cooked properly – I’m just not a fan of their Applewood smoked recipe.

Note to restaurants:  If you’re going to serve bacon, at least make sure it is still recognizable as such when it gets to the customer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bacon

  1. I love your random posts like this. ♥ And with that said, I love bacon too though I prefer thinner cuts and I like it crispy. But not TOO crispy. I agree overly crisp, charred bacon is gross and just plain wrong. xoxo

    • alaskan454 says:

      Happy you like. The bacon that I was unhappy with would have probably made you happy. It wasn’t quite as bad as I made it out to me. It was still recognizable as bacon. Sort of. I worried I’d crack a crown eating it, though.

  2. Larry says:

    Burned bacon is an Abomination Unto Nuggan (and unfortunately a staple around here, why oh why can’t I do a simple thing like fry crispy bacon without burning it?)

  3. Zot says:

    Try some side pork sometime. Some call it fresh side. The supermarket butcher won’t have a clue, go to a real butcher shop.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll have to try some. There is a butcher shop in my new town of residence, but I haven’t stopped in there yet.

  4. Neal says:

    They opened one on the street I commute on in Atlanta a couple of weeks ago. I went in to try it but the queue seemed to wrap around itself. Why Cookout likes the tiny interior layout baffles me. I left to try again when the crowds die down.

Leave a Reply

