Range Trip and OC Lunch AAR

Today has been a good day so far.  It started with a somewhat earlier reveille than usual, after which I made the ten minute drive to the range.  Range partner Larry arrived shortly after I did.  We chose to play in the twenty-five yard pit that has the steel plate rack.

Having just recently gotten together for the purpose of making smoke and noise, and considering the scarcity of both loaded ammunition and reloading components, we opted to spend most of our time shooting firearms chambered in .22 long rifle.  I brought my trusty Ruger 10/22 with the Ruger BX-25 magazine, which had yet to malfunction in over five hundred rounds since the installation of the Volquartsen (NY Boycott member, please consider them for your next purchase) upgrade, despite not having been cleaned since installation.

Well, that statement can no longer be made.  I had two failure to feed malfunctions with it towards the end of the session, during which probably five hundred rounds that were fired.  In any case, I am very satisfied with the upgrade, and with the BX-25 magazine.  Roughly a thousand rounds of the cheapest, dirtiest 22LR ammo on the market before the first malfunction.  It still ran better than it did stock, even at the end of the day.  I will clean it later.  Torture test complete – results satisfactory.

Larry brought his Marlin 60, which, although a less expensive gun than my 10/22, enjoys the reputation of being a tack driver, especially when compared to a stock 10/22.  This reputation was earned again today.  The Marlin is normally accepting of any ammo, but today it was a bit finicky.  I have an ammo can of various loose 22 ammo that I’ve collected. All of it bears Winchester headstamps.  Some have bare lead bullets, and others have what appear to be a copper washed bullet.  The Marlin refused to cycle a single round of the lead stuff, but did OK with the copper washed, as well as Remington green box (not sure the designation, if there is one) and Federal Lightning.  Reliability goes to the Ruger today, though.  It should.  Between the initial cost, trigger upgrade, and bolt tune-up, I have enough in it to buy a pair of Marlins with enough left over for a brick of ammo, at least at pre-scare prices.

We took turns knocking over the steel plates at the back of the pit.  My 10/22 has an ultra cheap fixed 4X BSA scope that I got from my late nephew, which makes short work of the plates.  You don’t even have to try hard.  Get the cross hairs close, squeeze, settle on the next plate, squeeze, lather, rinse, repeat.  It was particularly giggle inducing, especially when I was able to line up and fire so quickly that the plate I shot two plates ago was still falling.  22LR is FUN!

Larry also ran several mags through his Hi-Standard with the usual results, and a box of Tula through his carry Glock.  I had only brought the 10/22, and was happy to knock the plates down almost as fast as he could reset them.  It was a very good morning, despite cold fingers induced by the mid-30’s mercury reading.

After we left, I made a quick detour to the post office, where I picked up my latest crack delivery.  We then caravaned the seventy-ish miles to our Open Carry meetup.  Folks were pleasant, and food was good, as usual.  Yes, I blew my diet wide open.

Shortly after we got there, I knocked over my drink in the process of shaking hands with one of the arriving folks.  Yes, I am a klutz.  It gave me the opportunity to look down the shirt of the very cute waitress who helped to clean it up, though.  It was an extremely nice view.  I tipped generously, partly as an apology for causing her extra work, partly to be a good ambassador for the OC crowd, but mostly for having such very lovely, proportionally-sized bosoms and for allowing me to have a peek at the top of them.  Even though I’m sure she had no idea that I drooled looked.

After saying my goodbyes, I headed back home.  I stopped at my local merchant of death, on the off chance that some of the items for which I am searching would be in stock.  Unbeknownst to me, they close at 1500 on Saturdays.  I arrived at 1515 and found a dark store.  No big deal.  It was on the way, and it is highly unlikely that I would have been successful anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Range Trip and OC Lunch AAR

  1. Sean D Sorrentino says:

    I also like my Volquartsen 10/22 parts.

    Thanks for the link to the New York Boycott.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I bought them at your recommendation. You told me about the kit the day you came out and zeroed your 243.

      Thanks for stopping by. Keep up the good work on the NY Boycott list.

Leave a Reply

