A Late Thanksgiving Post

This past Thursday was Thanksgiving here in the US.  I spent the day at my mother’s home in a bordering state, or on the road en route to/from her location.

I’m thankful to still have my wonderful mother.  After nearly three-quarters of a century on this earth, she remains healthy and mentally sharp.

I’m thankful to still be drawing breath.  Sometimes, life sucks.  Even so, I’m thankful to still have mine.

I’m thankful to have a decent job.  It’s not perfect, and the next few months will probably result in many rants relating to said job.  Despite this, I am thankful to be gainfully employed somewhere better than BigBoxRetailer.

I am thankful for a nice, comfortable home, and plenty of food to eat.  I’ll likely be closing on a new-to-me much smaller and less nice home in the near future.  But, even with the work that will come with it, the circumstances will be much more favorable.  I am thankful for this opportunity.

I am thankful to live in what remains the freest country in the world.  I intensely despise all but about five of the 545 assholes who are responsible for the behemoth that is the federal government.  Those five, I just hate. Even so, there is no better place to live, and I am thankful that I am one of those fortunate enough to call the United States of America home.

I am very thankful for the love of a good woman.  Two months ago, I was moaning about my inability to find love.  After attempting to coax a date from hundreds of women over the better part of a year, with zero success, I had all but given up.  I would occasionally strike up conversations with women that I met during my day, and every so often, I would peruse online ads and profiles.  I wasn’t expecting anything good to happen, though.  I was just trying to keep the dream alive.

But, I managed to find LadyFriend about seven weeks ago.  It feels like so much longer.  I spend every available moment either with her, or in contact with her.  No, she’s not perfect.  Her lack of organizational skills annoys me.  the fact that she has undisciplined and seldom groomed canine family members living inside her home bugs the shit out of me.  Her weight concerns me from a health standpoint.  But, I love spending time with her.   I can be myself with her.  I am so comfortable in her presence.  And in her arms.  She enjoys being with me, and thrives on my attention.

Is she “the one”?  I’m not ruling out the possibility, but I have significant doubts.  Am I in love with her?  I don’t know.  Based on my track record, I’m not sure I even understand the meaning of the word, much less ever experienced it.  I care deeply for her.  I miss her when we are apart.  When I am with her, I am happy.  The fact that we are similarly immature in some ways, and both truly enjoy and appreciate being in each other’s company says a lot.

But we are still getting to know each other.  Our relationship, however you define it, is still in its infancy.  All I know for certain is that I have been and will likely continue to make the local gas stations a fair amount of profit from all the driving I do to go see her.  And it is worth every penny.  Being alone sucks.  I am so very thankful that I do not have that complaint at this time.

I hope everyone else had a happy Thanksgiving as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Late Thanksgiving Post

  1. Larry says:

    Glad that everything is going well.

  2. Wraith says:

    God bless and keep you both….and your SO’s daughter, and the undisciplined canines. As long as she’s not crossing the lines that make you who you are, I think this will end well.

Leave a Reply

