Brief Update

I survived the first week working for FaucetCompany.  They have some really weird ways of doing business that will cause issues for me in the future.  I won’t go into these at this time, but will reserve my ranting for when these policies impact me significantly.  Let’s say that, despite the drama that I know will eventually come, the job is manageable and better than any other option currently available to me.

Life with a girlfriend is proving to be interesting, and fun.  We text/email/talk every day that we do not see each other.  She lives with her father, following the passing of her mother earlier this year.  Father was out of town last weekend, so we spent the entire weekend together at her place. This past Friday night, I met her after work for dinner, and she accompanied me to my home where she spent the night.  Yesterday, we spent the day out.  We were alone for the morning, and Daughter came home early afternoon.  The rest of the day was spent with Daughter in tow.  Daughter decided that she wanted me to walk with my arm around her the entire day.  She was very specific as to where my arm was to be, so we ended up stepping on each other regularly.  Also, while we were at the restaurant, Daughter dictated that I accompany her to the buffet instead of her mother.  LadyFriend found all this absolutely amusing.

I’ve located a foreclosed home in the same town where FaucetCompany is located.  It needs a lot of work, but appears structurally sound.  It can be bought for approximately the same price that I paid for my car.  I’m seriously considering it.  The hour plus commute time each way (and the corresponding fuel bill) are rapidly getting on my nerves.

I am currently rabbit-less.  The last mating attempt failed, or the pregnancy self-terminated.  With everything else that is going on in my life right now, I decided that I could do without the additional responsibility of the rabbits until things settle down.  So, both of the breed pair are now in my freezer.  I hope to get a better handle on everything by the first of the year (assuming that the world doesn’t end approximately five weeks from now as some predict) and at that time I will acquire a new pair.  This time, I will get true Californian or Californian/New Zealand White.

That’s about it for now.  I’m still working on the latest chapter in the HOA Cunt saga, and the holster review.  Y’all have a good week, ya hear?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Brief Update

  1. GarandGal says:

    I’m glad to hear that things are going well for you 🙂 Hope you have a good Thanksgiving and that the impact of the policies is less than you anticipate.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks! Things have certainly taken a turn towards interesting for me.

      The company is just stupid about time off (must schedule vacation in January, or take whatever leftover crumbs are available), last minute mandatory weekends, and forced overtime (20 days on, one day off, sometimes 12-hour shifts, too) during busy periods which come out to over a third of the year. Every hour of OT puts me that much closer to retirement, though.

      I hope that you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving, also.

      • GarandGal says:

        Yup, that’s the attitude we try to have towards OT too. Many holidays my husband isn’t here because he’s covering shifts and it sucks but we just flex our family time to whenever he’s off. That’s what’s important, not the precise date. He has 80 hours of OT coming up on his next check. We won’t get to bank any of it (new water heater, new tires, new master cylinder and tie rods, new phone all pretty much killed that idea) but we don’t have to short any of the bills to make sure we have hot water, a phone and working vehicles either.
        How will moving to the new job effect your ability to see the new lady and her girl?

      • alaskan454 says:

        Sounds like hubby’s OT came at precisely the right time.

        The new house is actually about 15 minutes closer to LadyFriend’s residence, so, while still a significant distance, it would be an improvement.

  2. I am so happy to hear things are going well for you! Love you lots and miss you! ♥

Leave a Reply

