Work Update

Well, I start my new job on Tuesday.  And, wouldn’t you know it …

The store manager at BigBoxRetailer called and left a message for me earlier today.  He asked that I call him so we could talk about some good news he had gotten from his boss earlier in the day. Since I had to go in to pick up a prescription anyway, I decided to have the conversation in person.

It seems as though they finally (almost three months later) got permission to make me full time.  I explained the new job situation, and said that it is a temporary assignment that is only expected to last two to three months.  Yes, I lied.  They said they expected it to last six months or so.  If I said six months, there is no way he would have even pretended to wait.

I asked how crucial the timing would be of actually making the change in the system.  He said that he would hold off as long as he could.  He mentioned a couple significant events on the corporate calendar, including the end of the fiscal year when they regularly freeze all hiring, status changes, capital equipment purchases, etc., and how that may impact things.  He suggested that, assuming I work a Monday through Friday day shift schedule at the new job, that I work Friday evening for a few hours, and a full shift on either Saturday or Sunday.  This would be best for them from a business standpoint, and keep me with one full day off every week.

I still hope to turn this new job into a permanent situation, but if it doesn’t work out that way, hopefully Manager will be able to get me full time shortly after the assignment ends.  Until then, it looks like I’ll be working way more hours than I ever wanted to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Work Update

  1. Garand Gal says:

    Yeah but think about the stacks you’ll be banking. Fan enough of those around downtown and you’ll be able to both find a ticket for a ride in ladytown AND test out your aim in a self defensive situation. A twofer!

    • alaskan454 says:

      As likely as that scenario may or may not be, when, pray tell, will I ever have time to get downtown to do said waving?

      • Garand Gal says:

        After you stop working whichever job you wind up not keeping. I figure you won’t have the time or energy to do much else while you have both.

      • alaskan454 says:

        Ain’t that the truth. When it rains, it pours. I got a call yesterday about yet another opportunity, a few bucks less per hour and a little farther away, but direct-hire permanent with great benefits. If that one works out, it will make the decision and schedule a lot easier. I’ll keep y’all posted.

  2. Larry says:

    I guess that range time will be scarce for a while. I well remember those long days…and weeks…

    • alaskan454 says:

      Probably for the first few weeks while I get used to my new schedule. I’m going to need to do something to keep from going fucking nuts from all the working, though. Assuming I’m M-F at the new job, maybe that will mean working Sunday instead of Saturday one week out of three at BBR, so I (we) can turn money into smoke and noise at least one Saturday morning per month. Regular range time WILL happen, one way or another. I’ll keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

