Dating Effort – Six Month Summary

I attempted contact with one hundred eighty-four women via online dating websites, and asked out three others in meat space.  Of these one hundred eighty-seven ladies, three agreed to go out with me.  One backed out two days before our scheduled “date” – after she thought to ask if my divorce was final.  As for the other two, despite multiple attempts over the course of more than a month (in both cases) to schedule a mutually convenient time to get together, neither resulted in a meeting.  So, I wasted six months of my life, a hundred twenty FRNs, and many, many hours.  For NOTHING.  Zero, zilch, nada, ничего.  Not even one “coffee and conversation” meeting, much less a real date.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dating Effort – Six Month Summary

  1. Have you given any thought to eharmony? They’re supposed to be good for helping to find a relationship and not just a casual hookup like a lot of other online services. You’ll find someone. I know you will. *hug*

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. eharmony claims the highest success rate in the business, but match has a good overall reputation. Just for shits and giggles, since it is free to do so, I filled out eharmony’s questionnaire. Twenty minutes and a gazillion questions later, it told me, “We’re very sorry, but our matching system cannot predict good matches for you.” I told it that I’m separated. I went back and did it again using a different e-mail address, and claimed to be divorced, just to see if it made any difference. It did, and showed me nine matches. Even so, there is no way in hell I’m going to pay even more money to be ignored by women. I can get that every day, at no cost. Fuck it! I’m taking your advice and ceasing all efforts to locate a lady-love for the foreseeable future.

      • Garand Gal says:

        When I got divorced I publicly swore off men and had five guys that I’d known for a while ask me out within the month. Maybe they’re like cats. Pursue them and they rub their butt in your face just before they claw the heck out of you, but ignore them and push them away and they run their behinds off chasing you down to rub on you.

      • alaskan454 says:

        Time will tell. I won’t run away from any opportunities that may present themselves, but I certainly have no intentions of expending any significant amount of energy pursuing a romantic relationship any time soon.

        By the way, I love the e-mail addresses you make up to satisfy wordpress’ form requirements.

      • I don’t blame you for not wanting to spend money for it. I wouldn’t either. I think time to focus on yourself is a good thing though and maybe that’s what you need right now. I am sure everything will work out. =)

      • alaskan454 says:

        If it’s meant to be, it will happen. I’m just not going to beat my head against the wall repeatedly, trying to create something out of thin air – regardless of how badly I may want it.

Leave a Reply

