News

I just got home from work.  Yes, I’m on vacation this week.  Remember this?  Well, last week I got a call from the manager that I mentioned in the linked post.  I missed the call, and he only said that he had a question for me.  He was gone for the day by the time I got the message, and did not work the next three days.

This morning, he was back at work.  I called him, and he asked that I come in for a few minutes.  To sign the job offer transferring me from night shift back room to sporting goods sales associate.  Yes, you read that correctly.  I have nine more scheduled nights on third, after which I will be going to some version of day shift.  I’m sure day shift will come with its own special pile of shit, but at least it will be a different pile of shit than the one I’ve been playing in for the last year and a half.  And I’ll have a good manager.

In other news, I cooked my first rabbit stew today.  Actually, I started it yesterday morning, when I dropped the bunny into the slow cooker.  This morning, I peeled and cut up the potatoes, and put them into a saucepan with onions and jalapenos.  Then I removed the rabbit, drained the broth into the saucepan, and went to work separating the meat and bones.  After more than twenty-four hours of cook time, this was a very easy task, and interestingly enough, the bones only weighed about 4.5 ounces.  I added the meat to the veggies and broth, and left it to simmer.  It should be ready to eat shortly.

I have a job interview scheduled for tomorrow morning at 0900.  It is a for long-term contract position at a semi-green company, and is mechanic/technician type of work.  If I get it, my pay will jump by almost 250%, and it will be full-time hours.  The only down side is the fact that it is contract, not a direct hire or even temp-to-hire, and there is no indication as to the anticipated duration.  The phrase “long-term” in this context usually means at least six months, but there is no way to know.  I’m going to give it my best shot, and leave it up to the powers that be to decide if I should get it or not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to News

  1. Garand Gal says:

    Good luck on the job interview. I hope you get it. Even if it’s only temporary it will still be something on the resume and perhaps you can network it into a full time position somewhere. I like the bread, and I especially like the fandangly machine. I make mine all by hand now that my kitchenaid burnt up grinding venison. The grain mill is interesting too, although I would rather have a hand crank option, and I’ve been having a difficult time locating a source of wheat locally. They don’t seem to grow it in the South East. Do they have it in N Carolina?

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks! It went OK, in my estimation. I found out that one of their regular mechanics is on light duty, and this position is to pick up the slack for him until he’s back to full duty. Very little chance for a permanent position, or much more than six months.

      We have a semi-local co-op who contracts with Wheat Montana for two deliveries per year. The closest delivery point to me is Raleigh, but I order enough to make it worth the drive – usually two 45# pails or 50# bags of Prairie Gold and one soft white wheat for non-bread applications. Sometimes I’ll get a pail of rice from them also, but it’s not much cheaper than what I can buy off the shelf at WallyWorld, two pounds at a time.

      I need to get a manual mill, since the electric model won’t do me any good without, you know, electricity. I found a good one, I just haven’t worked it into my budget, yet.

      • Garand Gal says:

        You’re welcome! Sounds like it’s not the best situation for someone who already has a job, even though your current job is much lower paying.
        Which hand operated mill are you looking to buy? I have zero experience with them and am always looking for opinions and advice.

      • alaskan454 says:

        No call-back on the job yet, so I’m assuming I didn’t get it.

        I can’t find the mill I had picked out a while back. It was a hand cranked stone model for about $150. After doing some more research the last couple days, it seems that the Country Living Grain Mill (at a little over $400 – ouch!) is the bees knees if one plans to use it quite a bit. For a backup or occasional use, Family Grain Mill for ~$150 looks to be a good choice. Reviews say it’s almost as good as the Country Living model, but doesn’t appear to be as well-built, with many plastic pieces and the whole thing mounted on glorified plywood. Not sure which direction I’ll go, but either one is going to have to wait a while longer.

  2. I’m glad you will have a good manager on day shift. That will hopefully be enough to compensate for any down sides to working day shift. Like, you know… having to actually deal with customers all day. I do not envy you on that one. Our anti-social tendencies make such things very daunting. I don’t even like being among the other customers in a store when I go grocery shopping.

    How was the stew?

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the well wishes. I’ll let you know how it goes after I’ve worked a few shifts dealing with the assholes.

      The stew was OK. I under-salted it, and didn’t get the spice combination exactly right, but it was certainly edible. I still have over half of it left, but I expect it to be gone by the first of the week.

Leave a Reply

