Ignoring Stupid Laws

Two recent posts on blogs I regularly read caught my eye recently.

First, Kenny says that he doesn’t give a shit about any new gun laws that may be passed, since he is already breaking a shitload of existing ones, and will ignore the new ones.  This doesn’t surprise me.  Kenny is a rebel of sorts, anyway.  That could be one of the reasons why I like him.

I heard the same sentiment when I lived in the Peoples Republic of California back in the mid-1990’s.  I don’t care what laws they pass.  I’m not going to follow them anyway, and neither will anybody I know.  What the fuck is wrong with people?  Why not oppose the fucktards who come up with this stupid shit instead of letting it go unchecked?  Maybe a little effort on our part would keep at least some of the stupid shit from becoming law, and in the process make it at least marginally more difficult for the thugs in jackboots to tote you away in bracelets.

The second one was Duke, which surprised me a little. Especially after what he wrote here (very good article, as are the two follow-ups – even though I do not agree with everything that he says).

I’ll admit that, on at least one occasion, I carried where I knew that doing so was prohibited by law.  I am a firm believer in Better to be judged by twelve than carried by six.  However, I do not advertise the details, and I actively support any and all efforts to shorten the list of gun free predator friendly zones.

It may indeed be too late for the ballot box to save this nation, but it doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop trying.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ignoring Stupid Laws

    • alaskan454 says:

      The event to which I admitted was in a different jurisdiction, and the statute of limitations has long since elapsed. What may or may not have happened since then …

  1. I agree with you that people should oppose the stupid laws rather then sit idly by and instead choose to ignore them. Among the finer stupid laws here in PA: no singing in the bath tub, housewives are not to hide dust and dirt under rugs, fireworks stores can only sell their products to out-of-state customers, dynamite is not to be used to catch fish. Then there’s this one, which is not state-wide but in one particular city: men may not become aroused in public. *ahem* Geniuses making our laws, truly. A very bitter woman came up with that last one I’m sure.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I couldn’t agree more. Many laws on the books have not been enforced for so long that they may as well have been repealed. Problems are more likely when a new law is passed, either as a knee-jerk reaction to something like the recent theater shooting (like another law would have made a difference – mass murder is already illegal, but they want to make it illegal-er), or as idiot lawmakers (but I repeat myself) doing what they do best.

Leave a Reply

