Roomie Got The Job

She got a verbal offer yesterday, with the formal letter to come either today or tomorrow.  As of the 13th of this month, she will be a Process Tech at EvilCompanyThatNeedsToGoBankruptBecauseTheyFiredMe, where she will make a little over double my salary.  It also means that if the notion strikes me, I can move out to Wyoming and not worry about how she’ll pay the annual ~$3000 in taxes, HOA fees, homeowners insurance, and all the other costs that come with living in a nice, big, expensive house, on top of her normal expenses, all without any help from me.

Not that I seriously entertain the possibility.  More than a few times per day, anyway.  Honestly, the only thing stopping me are the bitterly cold winters, and the fact that the nearest BigBoxRetailer to which I could transfer is sixty miles, one way.  Meaning that I’d work the first hour and a half of every shift just to pay for the gas to get there and back home.  Longer than that, actually, because I still have to pay Social Security and Medicare, even if I don’t make enough to have any Fed tax liability.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Roomie Got The Job

  1. Garand Gal says:

    Good for her! If you do move, may I suggest that you keep the ratio of single females to males in mind? Since having a companion is one of your goals I’d think you wouldn’t want to move to the middle of a high male population.

    • alaskan454 says:

      It’s reasonably well balanced there – 50.9/49.1 male to female for the state, 54.4/45.6 male to female for the county, but pickings are going to be slim regardless of the percentages. The town has less than 300 people. Hell, the entire county (which is only slightly smaller in area than the entire country of Israel) only has a little over 15K total population. Finding anyone there is going to be a huge challenge, but it’s not like it’s been a walk in the park here. Maybe with less people, there will be less “background noise” and my attempts at contact won’t be ignored so quickly.

  2. Jin Chiang says:

    You mustn’t forgot that the purpose of life is to pursue your dreams. Maybe Arizona where it’s nice and warm? Definitely difficult to find the perfect sanctuary with the right mix of amenities.

    • alaskan454 says:

      You’re right, and I appreciate the reminder. However, it’s very difficult to pick up and move some place new with a part time job that only pays nine bucks an hour (and a dollar of that is a night shift premium that is easily lost).

      Wyoming is an option only because I already have a place to live there where I will not have to pay rent. It’s been vacant for a long time, so repairs will be needed, but once those are done, all I would have to pay are the taxes, which are <$500/year. The energy required to stay warm in a sixty year old house with little or no insulation during bitter Wyoming winters would certainly be significant, though, and is a major challenge that I haven't completely worked out yet.

  3. lpcard says:

    Which department? Given her experience I’m guessing she will be in the fab?

  4. Craig says:

    Congrats to her. Glad to hear you still have the WY place. ….. I am with you on the too cold thing. I lived in FL long enough to be a Floridian and Kansas winters can be bad enough…. last winter not included…..

Leave a Reply

