Remora Holster – Three Months Later

I bought a pair of Remora holsters approximately three months ago.  I talked about them just after my purchase, and again about a week later.  I wanted to post a somewhat longer term follow-up review.  As pocket holsters, at least for my KelTec PF-9, they are perfect.  They break up the outline of the gun well, although those who know will know.  They absolutely stay put while the gun is drawn.  No other pocket holster that I’ve tried even comes close in comparison, and I’ve used several.

As an IWB hoslter, I’m not nearly as impressed.  Perhaps someone with a different body type, fashion sense, or some other combination of factors will have a different experience, but for me it doesn’t work well for my primary need, which is carry at work.  For normal, day-to-day carry for the sedentary to slightly active lifestyle, it works fine, but that just isn’t the purpose for which I bought it.

For those of you who are not regular readers, but found this post via search engine, I’ll give you a little background.  I work a relatively active job, handling freight in the back room of a busy retail store.  It’s not digging ditches, but I do a lot of moving, reaching, bending, et cetera, during the course of my shift.  I’m also about twenty percent above my recommended maximum weight.  I’m not sure if this has any effect on the function of the holster, but I’m telling you in case it may.

I wear the holster in my waistband at approximately the seven o-clock position, with a t-shirt tucked in underneath, and my cover shirt un-tucked over the top.  The gun/holster moves a fair amount unless I tighten my belt to the point that it is uncomfortable.  The assembly (gun and holster) has fallen down my pant leg once, and rode up far enough on a couple occasions that I thought it was going to slide out and hit the floor.

I guess the bottom line is this.  As a pocket holster – best in class.  As IWB, for normal carry for the average lifestyle, with the occasional need to move short distances, it would seem to be one of the best values out there, if not one of the most flexible options at any price.  However, if you find yourself rolling around on the ground or otherwise moving around quite a bit, you will probably want to try something different.

To date, I still carry in this holster, but only because I have not yet procured a proper replacement.  I solicited advice and a quote from a well-respected man in the business this past weekend, but have not yet received a response.  Perhaps my e-mail got caught in his spam filter, or maybe he’s just been too busy between work and taking care of his wife to answer.  I’ll give him until the end of the week before I pester him again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Remora Holster – Three Months Later

  1. Jennifer says:

    Pester away. I’ll make sure he got your message

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the offer, but I know his first priority right now is you – as should be the case. I’m ready to commit as soon as I’m sure exactly what I want, but I’m not in a big hurry to get to that point, or for delivery. Please tell him not to rush to get to it.

  2. Sorry. As you surmised, I have been really busy – trying to catch up on a bunch of stuff over the last few weeks. Thanks for your patience!

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thank you for taking the time to comment, sir. Please do not rush on my account. Your family and your wife’s health are paramount for you right now. Believe me, I understand. I also know that running one’s own business is semi-controlled chaos most of the time.

      I was more concerned than anything that my e-mail ended up in your Junk Mail folder. I knew you’d recently done a holster for Erin, and she’s a regular here. I figured she’d point you in my direction eventually.

      It seems as though your lovely wife beat her to it, though. She must have gotten some sort of notification that I’d linked one of her posts (I’m nearly certain she’s not a regular reader), because within minutes of publishing the post, her comment was awaiting approval.

      In any case, take your time getting back to me. If I don’t hear from you in a month or so, I’ll send another e-mail. Otherwise, whenever it suits you is fine with me. I’m pretty sure a standard Executive II is what I need, but wanted to discuss my situation with you a bit before I committed.

  3. Erin Palette says:

    Michael is very busy, both with a large order and with his wife’s health. I’ll put a buzz in his ear for you, though. 🙂

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks, but Jennifer beat you to it. I guess she gets notified whenever someone links to one of her posts, because it wasn’t five minutes after I published my post that her comment was sitting in my “pending” box.

  4. I love my Remoras, especially the thigh holster, but I also continue to use my IWB hybrid (Desantis) for my Glock 19 when I’m in my work pants. Agree completely with your assessment

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the visit and for taking the time to comment.

      Remora is a very good product, and I hope that I was successful at making that clear. They are also a bargain at their current price point. They just aren’t for every application/scenario.

  5. Pat says:

    Hey three months later……you might want to try smart Carry ….look on line ..I think that might solve you problem and works well…..very comfortable ….good luck

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

      I had one back when it was still called ThunderBelt. I wore it long enough for the muzzle to wear a hole in it. It has its place, but with the additional overhang that I now carry around my middle, the draw is too slow for me.

      I have other carry options that work better for me. I wrote this post, and the related ones, to share my thoughts and experience with the Remora, which was a new-ish and hot product at the time.

      I still use mine near-daily, but as pocket holsters. For that purpose, they are the best I’ve ever tried. By far. But as IWB, they fail miserably. In my opinion, of course.

  6. Bagpipe Mike says:

    Sir, The Remora is not a pocket holster,although you can of course. Used as designed,between 1:00(appendix) and 4:00,you should have no problems. I’m very active in mine & am pleased with the security it offers for a CCW iwb holster. Again, good luck. I’ve found the folks who don’t like them are asking too much or trying to reinvent the wheel.

Leave a Reply

