A Perfect Example

… of what’s wrong with America’s fiscal situation:  My nephew.

He just e-mailed me.  From his new smartphone.  That he was using at his medical provider’s office – the local ER.  Which you and I pay for via Medicaid.

What was his e-mail about?

He had been contacted by a creditor offering to settle a $1,200+ debt for under $400.  He wanted my advice.  Did I think they would go any lower?  Did I think creditor Y would offer a similar deal?  How would settling impact his credit rating and ability to get credit in the future?

He’s in his late twenties, and has never held a job for any significant amount of time.  In fact, I don’t think he’s done a single thing worth mentioning in his entire life.  He collects SSI and Social Security disability based on being an “unstable adult” – whatever the hell that means.  There isn’t a fucking thing wrong with him except for extreme laziness and an insatiable desire to stay high.

He can afford to buy a smartphone and pay for service with money that .gov has extorted out of us taxpayers, yet he can’t be bothered to make payments to his creditors.  In fact, he’s looking for a better discount than paying the thirty cents on the dollar that they offered.  And he appears to be looking ahead to the next time when someone will give him credit so he can default on that, too.  Stupid credit card companies.  Maybe they’d be a little more selective about their clientèle if the bailouts would stop.

I’m far from perfect.  I’ll work the system with the best of ’em.  But, I have contributed a significant amount to the public treasury, and despite my efforts to the contrary, I continue to do so.  I don’t make up some bullshit affliction so I can sit home on my ass and make the State take care of my every need.

End entitlement programs.  Let private charities fill the need.  Sunset Social Security.  Go back to If you don’t work, you don’t eat. Sometimes stupidity and irresponsibility should be painful.  Or worse.  I bet there would be a whole lot less fuck trophies getting made once the realization sank in that nobody else is going to pay.

OK, rant over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Perfect Example

  1. Wraith says:

    I can add nothing of value. Well said, Sir.

  2. Critter says:

    your nephew, huh? i have a brother like that.

  3. Garand Gal says:

    I had a nephew who thought he was going to be like that. His ex-marine father kicked his ass all the way to the recruiter…

    • alaskan454 says:

      Wish that was an option for this kid. With his “documented mental health issues” that he used to get the disability, all bullshit IMO, they’d never let him in.

      • Garand Gal says:

        Yeah, the ass kicking has to happen before stuff like that does. I hope it doesn’t ofeend if I express hope that life will knock some sense into him.

      • alaskan454 says:

        No offense at all – you’re absolutely correct. (For the record, you will have to work really hard to offend me.) Reality isn’t likely to set in until his mother quits taking care of him. Which will be when she dies or gets too old to work. My brother (his father) has already had enough, and refuses to enable his lifestyle choices.

  4. Jim says:

    I have a nephew like that as well. POS was staying with his grandparents (my in-laws) smokin’ dope and not even looking for a job. When he did look he had so many criteria that he knew he’d never find one to match (which included having no drug test, as he wasn’t about to quit smokin’). In one instance he asked my in-laws for gas money when I knew he had $150 in his pocket. AND THEY GAVE IT TO HIM! I was so pissed. I let them know how I felt about that whole situation. Almost got kicked out of their house for my trouble. Screw them. I tried.

  5. lpcard says:

    Is this the same one that built the Saiga? If so at least he can pick accessories…

Leave a Reply

