Bits and Pieces

I managed to develop a moderate case of what appears to be bronchitis with a side of nasal congestion/drainage this week.  On day number two of six in a row at work.  I’m miserable, but I can’t call in sick, because I’m only two weeks away from forcing them to make me full time.

The lying ass of a store manager promised to make me full time back last October, but has since failed to do so.  But, there is a loophole.  If one works thirty-four or more hours every week for twelve consecutive weeks, they are required to make you full time.  Today is the last day of week number ten.

It’s been raining almost every day for the last two weeks, and while that is a good thing for the garden, it also means that the weeds that make up my yard have achieved an altitude well in excess of HOA standards.  This morning was dry, so I mowed the front and sides, despite feeling like shit.  Now if the HOA Cunt™ drives by some time over the next few days, she shouldn’t have any reason to write me up.  Meaning that I shouldn’t be tempted to put a bullet through her glabella from half a parsec away.  Any more than I am tempted every day, that is.

Speaking of which, I need to take Annie back out for a second attempt soon.  I picked up a Harris bipod, and I hope to have the opportunity to try it out.  If the bolt was the reason why it wouldn’t fire before, then she should go BOOM real well now.  I’ll have to use a prybar to open the bolt after each round, but I can do that.  I’ll use the rifle rest to get it zeroed at 300 yards, then I’ll try with the bipod and see how much I suck.  I’m brand new to this style of rifle shooting, and I’m curious how steep (and expensive) the learning curve is going to be.

I’ve recently developed quite the addiction to M&Ms.  Specifically, the peanut variety.  I had cut a coupon out of a recent newspaper for $1.50 off two bags.  Since the coupon was set to expire next week, I just had to us it.  To get two of the 42 ounce size.  At nine bucks each.  That was two days ago, and one bag is already history.  No fucking wonder I’m back up to almost 200 pounds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bits and Pieces

  1. Garand Gal says:

    I would suggest that you call the doc and get a prescription. A lot of pharmacies have free or low cost antibiotics, Publix is one that comes to mind. I screwed around recently with a sinus infection and wound up with pneumonia and had to take two courses of azithromycin to get rid of it on top of the original course of pennicillin-based whatever they gave me. Not fun, and I don’t imagine you can afford that kind of crap.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I have some leftover amox and cipro from previous encounters with MD types that I’m trying to save. If I’m not noticeably improved within 36 hours, I’ll break into one of them.

      You see, I can’t just call my doc and get a rx. He’ll want to see me, take my $85, tell me what I already know, and send me on my way with a government permission slip to to buy a $4 bottle of pills from WalMart. GRRR!!!

      • Garand Gal says:

        I’m sure you’ve heard this, but fish antibiotics are human grade and available fairly cheaply. Azithromycin (aka Z-packs) are for sale for about $20 for a full course through online aquarium enthusiasts. As are doxycycline, amox, and a few others. Not the liquid treatments, you want the pills. I wouldn’t suggest self diagnosing though. Nor should you take medicines that haven’t been prescribed to you.

      • alaskan454 says:

        No, I did not know that. Your disclaimers have been noted, and your information has been filed for future reference.

        For the record, I’m feeling much better today. I still have an occasional productive cough, and my voice isn’t quite normal, but I feel about 90%.

  2. nancykrainz says:

    Better to WASTE the coupon than WAISTE the candy. lol

    • alaskan454 says:

      I’ve been buying one of these bags every week or so for the last month, so why not buy two at once and use the coupon?

      Because if I have that much on hand at one time, I’ll eat until I find the bottom of the bag. And then open the second bag.

  3. Critter says:

    just the thought of that much chocolate makes me a little ill.

  4. Garand Gal says:

    You may enjoy this video, provided for entertainment purposes ONLY.

Leave a Reply

