HiPoint Firearms

You may recall that I complained not too long ago about failure to feed malfunctions with my HiPoint model JHP45 pistol.  They have a lifetime warranty, and I finally got around to sending it in for repair last week.

Haskell Manufacturing, in Lima, Ohio, is the 45ACP handgun division of HiPoint Firearms.  At least that is where one is instructed to send 45 caliber handguns for warranty service.

In preparing my shipment on Monday, I was surprised to learn that the address given was considered residential by FedEx, and therefore subject to higher Home Delivery rates instead of standard Ground service rates.  Whatever.  The price difference was less than two Federal Reserve Notes.  Transit time was estimated at two days.

I expected to get it back in about a month.  WRONG!  On Saturday, Mr. Postman knocked on my door with a package that required a delivery signature.  It was my pistol.  Yes, five calendar days after shipping it out, I had it back.  Considering that it took two days to get there, and two days to get back, that is one day service.

One day to repair and test-fire the gun, package it back up, and have it on the way back to the customer.  Say what you will about their products, but their customer service is above criticism.

I haven’t had a chance to live-fire test it, but it appears to feed normally when manually cycling rounds.  It didn’t before.

The technician side of me desperately wants to find fault with the repair.  They replaced both magazines, the slide, the recoil spring, and the firing pin assembly.  It sounds like they replaced every part that typically causes problems, rather than spend time trying to figure out exactly what was causing my specific problem.

Then again, replacing half the parts and test firing it is probably a sound business decision.  They are probably paying their repair guy at least $25 per hour.  I’d estimate that their cost for every part of the gun total is maybe seventy-five dollars.  Street price for a complete, fully assembled gun is $160, and if you subtract assembly costs, shipping costs, marketing, manufacturer profit, and dealer profit, the parts themselves can’t cost a lot more than my estimate.  Instead of investing a lot of time (and labor cost) on troubleshooting, refurbish every gun that comes through the door for warranty repair and call it a day.

Again, major kudos to the folks at HiPoint Firearms/Haskell Manufacturing.  Their products may be uglier than sin and heavy enough to double as boat anchors, but they damn sure stand behind them like no other company I’ve ever done business with.  And when they work, they work very well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to HiPoint Firearms

  1. Erin Palette says:

    Also makes sense from a customer service standpoint. Replace everything, get it back to you, happy customer and they don’t have to pay a lot of salary for gunsmiths. Instead I imagine they have a ton of technicians whose only job is to replace stuff, and there’s only a handful of actual gunsmiths to inspect (and repair, if necessary) the stripped-out parts.

  2. Critter says:

    HiPoint. *facepalm*

    • alaskan454 says:

      Have you ever owned one? Just curious. I’m not saying that they are high quality pieces. I’m just not sure (yet) that they are junk.

      A couple years back, I had the hand start to skip regularly on a $700+ S&W revolver that had less than 100 rounds through it. After a warranty repair, I never had any more problems with it. Personally, I’ll reserve judgment for a while.

  3. Garand Gal says:

    While I applaud their efforts and appreciate their turnaround time and their interest in getting the product functioning and back in the hands of it’s owner asap, I don’t personally know anyone who has owned a hipoint that hasn’t had to send it in for warranty work within the first year, sometimes two and three times. Wouldn’t it be prudent to invest in fixing the problems before they go out the door?

    • alaskan454 says:

      Based on the information that you have, I won’t disagree with your statement. In fact, if I continue to have problems, I will shout your sentiments from the rooftops.

      For now, I can only applaud their warranty service. This is the first time I’ve needed to return it. I’ve also had to return a gun under warranty that cost five times as much and had little more than a tenth of the rounds through it that my HiPoint did when it started giving problems.

      I have full intentions of shooting the hell out of the HP, and will report any future issues, or lack thereof. You know me. I’m not exactly the type to keep my opinions or complaints to myself. 🙂

  4. MaddMedic says:

    Reblogged this on Freedom Is Just Another Word… and commented:
    Not the first time I have heard this about HiPoint. IN fact had one guy tell me he was sure they sent him a new gun. For free.
    Heh…

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks for the visit and the reblog. I’m sure my frame is the same because of the work I did on the feed ramp. Most of the rest of it appears new. Now, I just have to see if the new parts start to malfunction after a thousand rounds like the old ones did.

  5. Grumpa Joe says:

    A good Q_A system would stop making the product until the problem is found and fixed. All the US car companies used the HiPoint system until Honda and Toyota came along. Surprise, surprise, the customers went away.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Perhaps they have learned, and already improved some things. Maybe that was the reason behind all the new parts. I’ll find out after another thousand or so rounds, and will keep everyone informed.

      Thanks for the visit and the comment.

      • Timmo says:

        Boy was I surprised to find HiPoint manufactured right in my back yard. Looking at them because of their price. Curious how the next 1000 rounds went through–if you could afford them, that is.

        What’s new Alaskan454? From a former Alaskan who just moved down to the states in 2004.

      • alaskan454 says:

        Welcome, and thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

        I’ve probably only put about 500 more rounds through the HiPoint since I wrote that post. I had a few malfunctions, but I hadn’t cleaned it from day one at that point, and even so, it was an unremarkable number (<5). It is my nightstand gun, and I trust it as much as any of my other handguns that cost many times its cost. I maintain that it is worth at least twice the asking price strictly from a function and accuracy standpoint. Appearance, well, that is another story. 🙂

  6. Tony Varda says:

    Hi-Point is the best at their price point and maybe some above it. They are second to none in service and warranty, none better. I own 30 plus handguns of all price ranges, but if I could only afford one gun. Hi-Point would be in the running.

    • alaskan454 says:

      That has been my experience. After the warranty work, I have put several hundred rounds through it, with a malfunction rate of less than 2%, most of which I strongly suspect were ammo and not firearm related.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Eric Rider says:

    I have a Hi-Point JHP .45 along with many other guns (of widely varying prices and brand names) and yeah she may not win any good looks awards and some might be ashamed to show up at a range with it, I am not one of those people, and when I out shoot their $700 + dollar guns they shut up pretty quick. I only have a few hundred rounds through mine with ZERO malfunctions to date. Of course I read the instructions and cleaned it before taking it out the first time and I clean all my guns after a day shooting its just good practice, and as I say a clean gun is a happy gun. Most of the fail to feed or jamming problems with a Hi-Point no matter type or caliber are from their so-so magazines and if you get a good one or 3 like I have hang on to them. The guns themselves are very reliable and simple and tough as a M1-A1 Abrams tank. Hi-Point just needs to pay a little more attention to magazine build quality and they would be spot on.

  8. Hammer says:

    Can anyone tell me how this beast breaks down? Haven’t been able to get a manual.

  9. wayne says:

    Good read, I’m about to send my Hi-Point .45 in due to shells getting stuck. turns out the barrell has slid out a half inch. well see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

